Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Souls

by explosivelimes - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The spiritual world and the physical world are connected to each other in ways that no mortal being can comprehend. Souls is a card game that plays upon the concept of these CONNECTED WORLDS.

Each player is attempting to bring as many Souls over to their side of the playing field as possible. The game ends when one player has won 5 souls.

Because of time constraints, Souls has not been playtested and therefore might be completely broken or way off balance. I may continue work on this after LD48, we'll just see! In the meantime, enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#9Innovation4.35
#159Graphics3.83
#165Theme3.78
#195Overall3.60
#260Fun3.42
#324Humor2.75
#721Mood2.80
#1730Coolness33%

Comments

bobrocks says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:01am

We've played a couple rounds so far with a deck printed on regular paper. Not too hard to get into, seems like it could hold the attention of our gaming crew. Look forward to playing some more!

I would like to see some more polish on the illustrations. Not too much, the cards as they are have a certain charm. It is way too early to make a call on the game balance, but that will come with time. For 48 hours, this is impressive and totally nails the competition theme!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:42am

I didn't expect that someone does something like that for a LD, but why not? I don't like card games, but your initiative is interesting. It's a great idea. Thank you ++

LexGear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Interesting to see someone post something like this on LD, it's actually not the first card game I've come across on LD tonight, which is odd. Still bravo and good job.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Great idea, card games are very nice, with some more work you could try something like kickstarter to sell this game, this kind on game Works pretty well on kickstarter.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:34pm

I really like the fact that you have made a physical card game. We need more entries like this! Very well done. :)

RodRoy1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:36pm

It's nice to see that I wasn't the only one to do a board game this time. The cards look really nice and I like the rule set. I will have to give it a try later when I have someone to play this with.

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:51pm

a print and play game!? I'm up for it! :DD

so, i played it a little bit. it was kinda fun and is really impressive for a 48 hour game! :D

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:52am

This is truly innovative imo. Wasn't expecting to see a card game here, but it feels really great!

weebirdie says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Really simple to pick up and lovely artwork.
I'm impressed this was done in 48 hours!
Id like to see what could be achieved with the game after a little more work and playtesting....kickstarter number 2?

barryrowe says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:40pm

I like how friendly your artwork is. Very nice concept as well!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Thank you so much everyone! The whole experience of creating a game from scratch in 48 hours was very challenging. I would love to put more time into the illustrations and balance and very possibly run a crowd funding campaign of some kind once I know the game is polished. (:

dook says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:51pm

I wish I could try this out, but I don't have anyone to play with right now. Or a printer for that matter. But I love that you've made a card game, and it looks fantastic! Especially the monster drawings :)

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Neat take on the theme!

yodamaster says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Interesting game. Rename your link "Print & Play", not "web" since it's not playable online. If you want this printed as a real cardgame, let me know, I run a boardgame production company.

ajopart says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:22pm

That's an unexpected entry. Well done !

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]