Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bolt

by pxlcoder - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play with electricity in this mind-bending puzzler!

Bolt is a unique puzzler inspired by Tiger Electronics' "Lights Out". Unlike its inspiration it features connected switches in a variety of layouts, not restricted to a grid pattern. Furthermore, Bolt has three different types of switches and provides a great challenge.

This was my first ever Ludum Dare entry and I hope you enjoy it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#389Graphics3.36
#497Fun3.11
#613Overall3.16
#745Mood2.77
#771Humor2.03
#798Audio2.21
#810Innovation2.82
#1045Theme2.36

Comments

icedvariables says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:13am

Interesting game. Not sure if I fully understood what I was mean't to do so at points I often resorted to randomly clicking 'bolts' in the hope that they match up. Also, the music is quite repetitive but apart from that it pretty good.

BinaryPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Not the most original mechanic, but well implemented. Nice game. Sounds like you recorded the music yourself, which I appreciate, but does get irritating eventually.

technocf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:43pm

It's an OK game but I'm not sure what I'm supposed to do.

Kalor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:43pm

I enjoyed the game quite a bit. I found that different switches could of been explained a bit better and the music got repetitive very quickly but it was still fun.

hungyg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Very nice graphics and animation make this simple idea a well polished and executed puzzle game.

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Very polished for a 48hr game! The music was a bit repetitive, and I'd have liked the menu animations to have been a little faster - but the game itself is very good.

Peping says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:49pm

This is a great logical game. Hope to see the idea taken further!

CryoGenesis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Good graphics/audio and general presentation. Very interesting, had no idea how it worked, still managed to win. Good job!

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:59pm

nice game. I feel the animation could be a little faster though

monsterkillu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Quite interesting and quite hard ... I played about 3 or four levels ... Well done .. How did you do so much on just two days !!! :)

Manou says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:43pm

I'm very bad at this game :( But nice gfx and polish.

FeYbraNt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Nice game design !! Lots of levels and very simple. The only thing you need to think is about that noisy "sound ambient" :P.

BillToWin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Very solid presentation. Great look. Simple game mechanic but it's been done before and I don't find it that fun.

micahcowan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Good fun, and challenging. I feel like I might get farther if I just sat for a few minutes and reasoned about it for a while. Good game!

Rob Glen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Took a while to understand what I was doing right whenever I completed a level, but once I got the idea of it I quite liked it. I'd say the music loop was a little too short, got a little grating after a while. But apart from that, good game!

Bubblman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Really nice game!

esayitch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:02pm

A nice simple game. The execution was top notch, very polished, simplistic graphics that go along very well with the concepts. Levels were well-designed too and provided increasing challenge.

Sound got annoying after a while I guess, but that's about it :)

Solid entry, good luck!

Pavel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:01am

Cool ideal. Simple and interesting at the same time.

Simon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:14am

So very challenging! It's a bit hard to grasp at first but otherwise very good entry :)

Xeke_Death says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:32am

Looks nice and clean, works well...
Good work...

akymos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:38pm

A really good puzzle game.

Agecaf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Very nice puzzles, and great UI! I think the music wasn't the best fit though...

kdunee says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Nice and simple puzzle game, though the unevenly loop short guitar riff gets annoying quickly. I liked the UI.

ponk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Great game !
Looks nice and smooth.
Concept is fun !

aeveis says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:00am

Beat it. Nice puzzle game. like the solid graphics. Maybe a bit more feedback with how the different colored switches worked?

martim00 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Nice graphics and gameplay. Could be easily played on mobile. The music is annoying but I really liked the guitar effect. Maybe another melody..

enteagd says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Clever game, with some nice graphics! Only nitpicks I could find would be that single repeating loop of music is very distracting in a puzzle game! Good job.

Jezzamon says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:35am

Nice! Good job with the minimalistic graphics.

I think the lines between electric things and the way they lit up was a bit misleading, as what's more important was whether each box was active or not.

Sep 8, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Very polished, nice graphics. The music did become quite repetitive (but you have music so that's good). Nice puzzles, but could use a little more different variations to it, besides the 3 buttons you have right now. (Maybe add a switchable diode or weird logic nodes.) Still it was 48 hours, so great job!

Artamus says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Nice game, congrats!

pjimmy says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 3:08pm

very interesting puzzle game, not so sure about the theme

Literal Games says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Interesting puzzle mechanic, although I did end up randomly clicking a lot of the time.

The game feels very polished, I loved the menu animations and the juicyness of the buttons, and the art style is just what it needs to be for this kind of game. Great work.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]