Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Rainboverse

by modbox - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I created this game using Java and LibGDX. Thank you for voting, please vote even if its terrible, it was my first attempt. There is a bug where the witches disappear and walk through walls. Also the ending doesn't work aswell.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#253Humor2.87
#582Audio2.67
#875Mood2.61
#974Theme2.55
#993Overall2.74
#1009Graphics2.34
#1084Fun2.30
#1112Innovation2.21

Comments

harry.wheeler says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Looks amazing

modbox says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Lol thanks

Zoomyzoom says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:40am

Now this isn't something I say very often.. But... Why am I collecting rainbow barf!? Not bad though haha

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:55am

A bit confusing at first and need a bit more polishing. But since I am LibGDX lover, I like it anyway :)

anserran says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:57am

I liked the rainbow enemy. Not sure what it was, but I really felt it was bad. Didn't understand what food and rainbow barf was for. Nice colors.

modbox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Read the about page and it will make sense haha

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Hey, I used LibGDX as well! I recommend you provide separate downloads for the jar file and the source code, because most people probably just want to play your game and it reduces the download size and time for them dramatically.

Considering that this is your first attempt, you did a pretty good job! At least you managed to finish and provide a playable game and 48 hours isn't much time at all!

modbox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Yeh thank you, I really just wanted to be part of ludum dare

Norfinel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:28pm

The song are so creepy for my ears !

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:14pm

You asked me why the witches teleport, so here you go:

1. In RainbowWitch.java in the update() method in the else block you forgot to multiply the speed with the delta time as you have done in the if block, which makes the witches teleport once the player is out of their field of view.

2. In the RainbowWitch constructor you mirror the y coordinate of the cell for the witch, but this is wrong because libgdx already mirrored the map to fit its own coordinate system.

Fix:

In the constructor calculate the position like this:

position.x = (int) (x * StateGame.player.collisionLayer.getTileWidth());
position.y = (int) (y * StateGame.player.collisionLayer.getTileHeight());

In the update method always use "speed * delta" and never use just speed alone.

I guess these changes count as bugfixes, so you could upload a "fixed" version of your game...

modbox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Thank you so much!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:06pm

haha Rainbow barf. The art for this was awesomely rainbow. It was tricky to dodge the cats, and the hit detection was just a touch off. Got stuck on the walls on occasion.
rAIN boW bARF!

modbox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Haha, ive never done anything with tilemaps and collision was a real problem, thank you!

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Got potential, especially with a bit better graphic. But still good : )

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:12pm

good job on the game

uvwar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Very nice! Some weird tile seams showing through and I glitched out and got stuck on a portal or something and I seemed to move faster going diagonally, but otherwise good!

Charlie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Good job for your first attempt! but why these guys follow me? Ahhhhh! :-P

bobrocks says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Nice first LD, glad you had fun!

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Fantastic first entry! It was smart, creative, and challenging! Nice work!

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:04am

Great submission! I'm sure you've learned a lot for the next compo too!

elefantopia says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:48pm

I got stuck along the wall, too :( Fun game though.

DvanderAart says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:22pm

I like the concept and it works well except for when the bottom of the char touches the border it gets stuck.. Looks bright and happy. Good one

fisholith says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 10:30am

Not sure why, but this reminds me of when I used to play around with D-Paint back on the Amiga. There's something kind of charming about the witches being filled with rainbow gradients. I like the colors. :)

Congrats on getting a Ludum Dare project in!

JaJ says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:33am

Nice first entry! The colisions didn't bother me much, but I couldn't get the portals to do anything most of the time.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]