Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Solar System Builder

by Atuuh - Jam Entry

This game is a sandbox game, with no defined end. Upgrade your sun and planets to expand even more.

Guiding an asteroid to collide with a planet will transfer the asteroids resources onto it, but if the asteroid is too big it will deplete the size of your planet.

WASD rotates camera
left click brings up object info
double click makes camera orbit object
1,2,3 to change the speed of time
left click an asteroid then click a planet to direct it towards it.

Josh Henderson - Art
Ian Thomson - Code
Kyle Young - Code
Irvine Cruickshank - Music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#222Audio(Jam)3.40
#267Graphics(Jam)3.64
#415Theme(Jam)3.09
#435Innovation(Jam)2.95
#461Mood(Jam)2.94
#672Overall(Jam)2.74
#729Fun(Jam)2.18
#1598Coolness39%

Comments

nataku92 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:55am

Neat idea but lots of bugs. A lot of the menu dialogs are cut off, and there's no explanation on how to do anything. The font is also very blurry. Asteroids seem to be flying randomly and will often clip through the planets/star.

The graphics seem pretty good and the music is alright.

bob_fish says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:09am

I think you should work on fixing a few bugs so we can see the dialogs. Very nice idea though and looking forward to a bit more stable version!

kibertoad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:12am

Ambitious scope and pretty to look at, but controls don't seem to do anything and menus go over screen.

homeworld says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:27am

Very pretty, i wish there was some sort of tutorial to teach me how to play though!

Tanser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:59am

I love how it looks man, good job. :)

Kojan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:49pm

The graphics are really great and the audio fits perfectly with the atmosphere.
However a tutorial would have been great to teach us the basics

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:06pm

great work to Irvine, the music is beautiful and suits the mood perfectly.
It's an interesting concept, but I don't really get why guiding a huge chunk of rock in to a planet would generate resources! haha, but I enjoyed it nonetheless.

Great work all round

MicroChasm says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Awesome look and feel. I like the idea, and I love the sun. I found it hard to click on asteroids, and a little unintuitive to direct asteroids to planets to gain resources. I liked just moving around and seeing the objects though.

HotBoxGames says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:27pm

Really good concept - turning this into a full project could result in a great space sim.

Enjoyed the ambient space music too!

ajopart says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Impressive ! Great job. Keep improving the concept

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]