Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hobo Quest

by homeworld - Jam Entry

Our first Ludum jam, it's been a blast; hope you enjoy!

Disclaimer: don't play if you're offended by punching nazis and dinosaurs in the face

Bram Eisenhardt (code)
Thomas Visser (music)
Dan Filimon (art)
Kimmo Lemetti (guest art)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#43Humor(Jam)3.79
#159Mood(Jam)3.56
#165Graphics(Jam)3.95
#168Overall(Jam)3.55
#185Fun(Jam)3.40
#229Audio(Jam)3.39
#436Theme(Jam)3.05
#512Innovation(Jam)2.80
#1694Coolness35%

Comments

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:47am

Haha that was a fun game. Saw your game on AGDG, awesome promotional art. Gameplay reminded me of Hotline Miami, but I'm a bit too casual for it. Loved the tripping out graphics though!

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:19am

Better than I expected. I died a lot though :D

Anshul Goyal says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:36am

I loaded the game on chrome and safari on my Mac, all I got is a black screen with a health bar at the top.

Cad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:52am

This is a really high quality game for ludum dare, I'm impressed. Game was fun, played nicely.

Pavel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:42am

Wow, this is awesome. Great game, good job. Cool art, I really like the "wolfenstein" picture.

Citsua says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:46am

Incredible level of finition for a 72h game!
Nice concept too, the drugs thing was quite awesome x).

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Very much like Miami Hotline, but it also have distinct differences. Like the drug aspect, which was insanely awesome. The whole thing turned out a little too hard, though. Everytime I punch someone, they manage to punch back before they die, so I could never get past 2 in score. But whatever, I enjoyed the game anyway. Great stuff!

ZYXer says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Wow! the Graphics of this game are absolutely great. And I really like the different hallucination levels and the whole allusion to Wolfenstein. The levels are procedurally generated too, aren't they?

But the game was far too hard for me. In more than 20 tries, I wasn't able to pass the second level. Am I just really bad?

Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Fun game with lots of potential. The graphics and audio are great. It's so hard though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]