Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Buffalo Bison

by OneMuppet - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Update:
- Enemies added
- When in "Spirit-mode" you can destroy hunters
- Multiplier more pickups in a row = higher multiplier = higher score
- Updated GUI text
- Added Nausea ON/OFF (be brave keep it on!) :)
- Minor bugfixes and tweaks to flow
- Tweaked Bison collision
- Added leaderboard (local)
- Added level
- Added Game over when score reaches negative
- Added music
- Added sound effects

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2202Coolness0%

Comments

xWarZonex says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 2:21am

Its a nice start, and really good art, but the controls don't work:/

Aug 24, 2014 @ 2:52am

Nice work! The design is very sleek, and the mechanics are smooth. Great job!

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 2:57am

Good job, nice artwork but my eyes hurt from so much movement in the background

Eli says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 6:17am

The best part is that you can always fly:)

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 7:04am

Nice bison! Funny physics. It was difficult before I mastered control. Then it became too easy. The game will be better if you work on balance.

Aug 24, 2014 @ 7:53am

Reminds me a bit of VVVVVV and Sonic the Hedgehog.

This game hits really close to home, as I am Native American, and my father was once chairman of the Tongva tribe. The plight of the bison in North America directly contributed to the plight of the plains indians, in both body and spirit.

No this game is not perfect, but it's great just how it is. I love it!

BlueSama says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 8:06am

Really. You made this game in 48 hours

DrCicero says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:27am

Cool an VVVVVV clone! But the controls/movement is kind of wonky.

I guess you should zoom out a bit, so you can see where you are going, and increase the tightness of the left and right movement (eg. instant going into that direction if you press the button) as well as the gravity.

OneMuppet says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:37am

Thanks guys! Really appreciate the encouragement and the feedback!

Sacha862 says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 1:32pm

I really enjoyed this game! However:

1) On the second text screen at the start, you mean "were" not "where".
2) WASD support would be nice (splitting hairs here)
3) The bison can't seem to walk up hills...

Otherwise quite fun!

orukinawa says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Controls can be improved but I like the concept. The game would be much more enjoyable with better feedback

EthanWebster says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Really cool game, you did a good job! The only issue I have with it is that the bison can't walk up hills, but I noticed that pressing Spacebar inverts gravity so that didn't make it too problematic. Well done :)

donan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:34am

Really good game :D

colludium says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Excellent job on the theme and graphics. Some novel features - good job!!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Great look. Like the music track also. Found game itself very hard to play. It was fairly disorientating!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Nice graphics! Although the controls are hard to understand.

OneMuppet says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:29am

You can turn off Nausea, if you want. It makes it a bit simpler :)

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:21am

It was a bit hard to get the hang of, but I got pretty nimble after a while.

Nausea mode would have definitely have given me motion sickness, had it left it on longer. I'd suggest adding a non-full screen mode, as I think it would make the experience a bit less harsh on the eyes/brain.

A "Back to Menu" button would have been nice too.

I thought the bison was great. There's a serious lack of bison in games :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:36am

There are a few problem with the controls, but overall it fit the theme well and the graphics were great. good effort.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Definitely a more slapstick VVVVVV and I consider that a complement, fun humorous little game, personally I feel the controls are pretty decent, the camera seems to have a mind of its own sometimes though.

xrm0 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:41am

Nice concept but I find it hard to control the bison

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Nice job capturing the feeling of mass behind the buffalo.

Sep 5, 2014 @ 8:17pm

What a strange thing you have created, I think it needs work but there is a starting point there. It did definitely make me laugh

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]