Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

PRISM

by rantt - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls are:
A,left-arrow - move left
D,right-arrow - move right
space - to jump

mouse to teleport in the yellow world

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#148Fun3.60
#167Overall3.65
#219Humor2.96
#282Audio3.19
#292Mood3.31
#339Theme3.54
#436Innovation3.31
#704Graphics2.88

Comments

dunin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:19pm

good use of the theme. Remind me This is the only level...

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Fun to play. Too bad it's quite short.

DrMelon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Nice to see another Phaser game!
Very clever use of theme & puzzles. Good work!

sftrabbit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Interesting concepts for each stage, although I didn't get what was different about the "Sometimes you can't stand still" world. Good work.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:21pm

I really liked this! The graphics didnt grab me at first, but they're charming in their own weird way :P. I really liked the different rules in each worlds. I feel like you could go farther than this, by presenting the same challenge but having to use different rules to progress. My only complaint is that yellow world is too easy, but other than that its a pretty solid game :P

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:22pm

The red world was amusing!

Dasginger says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:23pm

I really like how this game acts pretty much the same in each world, but still ends up being completely different. The music is very well done too!

remmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:24pm

nice game, had fun playing it :)
colors and music are used really well

Zupoman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Nice music and the graphics style. The unusual style of movement actually adds to the mood, I like it. I don't understand the rules of collision detection though - sometimes you collide with the walls, and sometimes you just pass through - a bit annoying.

teoacosta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:35pm

I enjoyed this, but it made me rage because I suck at jumping.

RobotFriend says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:08am

This was great. Very clever dialog and gameplay.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:27pm

I enjoyed this very much. A very clever game and good use of the theme.

At first I thought the graphics were rather minimalist, but then once I got into the game I realised just how much they helped.

Good music too.

BitOfGold says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Phaser Game! :) I like the music. The platform mechanics are a bit raw for me, but I liked it!

alangamebot says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:47am

Great. I found this very enjoyable. I could see this being a fun game if you wanted to expand it beyond the comp.

Jupitron says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:18am

Hi!

An incredible game, really enjoyed it, wanted to keep playing!

Loved the character animation! Ive found space awkward to jump, i prefer W.

Nice music!

lorniebear says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Extreemly fun!

orukinawa says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:54am

Fun game and nice level design. Wished there were more levels :)

samooJAM says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:19am

Well balanced game, i.e. all aspects of the game from overall feel to mood are taken care of well. If you want to improve something then I say you could start from the controls, they were ok tho.

pvtroswold says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:47am

I thought it was funny having to basically play an entirely different game per world. I liked the phrases for each world too.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:44am

The hitboxes on the character and the spikes were a bit too unforgiving for my taste. Managed to finish it anyway. :) Solid game!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:11pm

I love it. I like how rules are broken it's unsetting in a good way.

dook says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Pretty neat! The concept could definitely carry a longer game :) I like the intense music

tbam says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:06pm

One of the better puzzle platformers on here, for sure. Very unique and fun!

Will Edwards says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:15am

Really brilliant idea and execution!

If I had one gripe its the lack of taking damage; on the hundredth attempt (yeah my keyboard skills suck) I was glad I restarted the level and not the whole game but still it was frustrating and would have been nice if I could have taken damage instead of instant death.

klianc09 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Really nice game, liked the music and having a bit of variety in gameplay. Although I don't know what's the matter with the green world.
A shame it's so short.

Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:16pm

It was alright. I found the controls a little frustrating-- the lack of short hops, some weirdness with jump timing, stuff like that-- which can hurt in a puzzle platformer. Graphics fit the mood, even if they were rather minimal.

DrCicero says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:08am

Nice game!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Theme is really well implemented. It is a very entetaining and inteligent platformer that despite being very simple, has everything to make each level stand out.

IamAcoconut says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Fun game! I liked how you kept changing the rules, it made it more interesting.

Larzan says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 7:36am

Great idea to change the laws for each level, nice backgound tiles. Good job!

nintendoeats says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 12:51am

I like the spike reversal portion. It's actually quite difficult to train yourself out of tropes, and that section was a good example.

Collision detection is a problem. In platformers, my feeling is that where collision detection cannot be pixel perfect it should err on the side of the player. There were times when I was killed for collisions between dead air in the sprites. Guessing how big the collider is does not a fun game make!

SketchyGalore says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 6:39am

A very nicely put together platformer! Kudos!

rantt says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Thanks guys for all the feedback, your suggestions on where I could improve have been really helpful :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]