Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cranesym

by Gametery - Jam Entry

Hello Folks,

It's our first LD entry and first finished game.
It was lot of fun but we are also glad it's over now :)

Theme : Connected Worlds

Interpretation : Symbiosis, Somehow the Anemone and the Hermit Crab lives in 2 different worlds but by connecting this 2 worlds both can benefit from each other and increase their survivability.

Programming : Erdem Sen
Art : Jennifer Sen

Tools used : Game Maker Studio, Photoshop and Sfxr
Music : freemusicarchive.org

There might be still some bugs but we didn't encounter any game breaking bugs.

Hope you guys will have fun playing it :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#287Humor(Jam)2.64
#330Innovation(Jam)3.13
#401Audio(Jam)3.00
#419Graphics(Jam)3.30
#435Fun(Jam)2.94
#445Mood(Jam)2.97
#473Overall(Jam)3.09
#691Theme(Jam)2.18

Comments

Phaix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:21am

Nice Sim!

LexGear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:46pm

#lonelyMac

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Not bad game, but it's boring

WebFreak001 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Best ocean game ive ever played :D But it doesnt match with connected worlds :C

Literal Games says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Really fun game, though difficult to survive the first couple of runs. Fun graphics and music!

Gametery says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:25pm

@Phaix , Thanks!
@LexGear, I'm sorry, i dont own a MAC OSX , i had no chance to test it there
@MechanicMoon, Thanks for reply. But i wish you explained further to make me understand why it's boring(Thats what feedbacks are supposted to do)
@WebFreak001, Thanks!Glad you enjoyed it! Its actually does match with connected worlds, just not literally :)
@Literal Games, Thanks! I am happy that you played it more than once :)

Elendar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Look great in 70 hours pretty nice work !! I belive you both do much more better work in the future..I want to say something also for a game nice, i like to play im having a lot of fun for playing thanks a lot for good work :))

Gametery says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:43pm

@Elendar, Thanks for the Feedback! Yeah we will do our best to improve the quality what we do :)

01101101 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Cute game ... don't understand the theme relation. Anyway welcome !

Kep says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:28pm

I enjoyed it. Well done!

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:43pm

+ fights
- goal?

Gametery says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:23pm

@puppetmaster , everything is explained when you press P in the game. After eating enough food your exp bar will glow(top right) , so you have to search the next level shell(You cant pick level 4 shell if you are lv2 or 1). Shell locations are always the same . when you get last level shell you beat the game. Thanks for playing :)

Vallar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Nice game. It was quite nice to walk around and trying to eat and survive. I haven't felt any particular danger throughout my playthrough and felt that the player character is moving slowly but it was a nice game.

I liked the graphics and the premise of the game. Though I don't know why two sea creatures would be separated between worlds? :)

All in all though a nice game and perhaps if there was no time limit this would have been a better game :D

Satyre says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Nice game. The relation to coevolution is nice.

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:38pm

I have played the game with my son (6), He loved the fights and the scary octopus. He felt nearly from the chair from hearing the dead sound the first time. :-)

Gametery says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:50pm

@Vallar, Thanks for the feedback! Yeah we had really more stuff planned but the time wasn't enough :)
@Satyre, Thanks! I'm glad you did like it !
@puppetmaster, it's great your son loved it, i'm happy that also the little ones get the chance to play our game :)

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:07pm

I love sea life, so I thought this game had a very unique concept! Good luck :)

Z.B.G.E. says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Fun little game :)

pmrsco says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:26pm

I understand the connection to the theme, and it may be a bit of a stretch, but I enjoyed the game. Finding the right shell was frustrating at first, but overall it was a fun, vibrant game, and finally having a hermit crab sim was just what I needed.

grillaface says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 5:49pm

no mac :(

MaesK says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Nice crab simulator :D I liked both the music and graphics, but the movement is slow and the goal isn't very clear, nor the type of shell that you can carry. Somehow, it matches better with the last theme "Beneath the surface" than "Connected worlds", but anyway, it´s fun and... GET YOUR TENTACLES OFF ME!

Rehacked says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Good job

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]