Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Two Must Become One

by b5cully - 48 Hour Compo Entry

EDIT: Download links are updated with a fix for the task list (up/down arrow keys mixed up). For lazy people they can download the fixed jar here: http://www.mediafire.com/download/vucpnzr6s1c2vmj/TMBO_hotfix.jar
EDIT2: removed the misleading "Web" play choice (thanks for Jamcount for pointing it out)

Not sure if I hit the theme, but I am very happy to be done. This is my very first ludum dare, and my first finished game ever, and I'm quite proud of this.

The goal of the game is to survive as long as possible and to progress to a sustainable society without draining and polluting too many resources (animals/plants/trees). If you have no food or water left, your health will drop and soon after the first people die. Farms cause pollution and the game ends if pollution exceeded the amount of fauna and flor available.


I will definitely consider building this game to a more extensive simulation, with natural/environmental disasters, pollution, society traits, better tech tree and so on.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#113Audio3.58
#130Overall3.71
#184Mood3.47
#307Fun3.35
#394Innovation3.37
#409Graphics3.32
#724Theme3.00
#1626Coolness37%

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:36am

It was a fun game overall, though there didn't seem to be an obvious goal to work towards, or really any explanation about how the system works. Selecting options in the menu is opposite my arrow keys, also. (I push Up, the selector goes down)

b5cully says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:40pm

@PeculiarCarrot
Oh jeez I forgot fixing this in a rush. I'll upload a fix for this if I still can. I've added a short explanation of the game in the LD description.

Thanks for trying!

Jamcount says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:31pm

The game says "web" but it is directing to a download link, web is for a webplayer version of the game.

-Jamcount;

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Man i just love this graphic, would like to see more graphics styles like this.

ruerob says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:56am

I really like the music in this game. Made fun to see how every task takes influence on the others. Well done.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:04pm

I really like the level design, the little cells are awesome :) The pathfindings pretty neat as well. Had a lot of fun :)

Wevel says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:59pm

OMG this music is amazing!

borgi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Cool music, interresting concept! Some more detailed description would be cool!

Benjamin says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:49pm

I had hard time understand that people wander around when they can't do a task. I think it would be better to make them stay at home instead. Especially for the plant tree which need wood... I didnt know that and was thinking the action have a bug.
The music fit really well to the mood. And even if it was a bit long I enjoyed my 2x plays of your game.

Scipio Xaos says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:29am

Ha! I love it! Took me a bit to figure out how to progress quickly. First time I just up and died.. The second I realized I could select "Gather Water" push 5, and watch my little dudes run around and collect a ton of agua. :P

It was interesting how you implemented resource regain physics with them growing in sort of a "spore" format and expanding depending on existing resources.

Still.. I wish it had gone on a little longer.. I suddenly won. :P

vividhelix says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:30am

Very fascinating. It would be nice to have some indication of what's possible and what not (for example if you don't have the 10 wood for a house). I did love the overall feel and trying to find the balance, I think if you gametest that a bit more this would make for a really addictive game!

Sep 15, 2014 @ 1:15pm

I find the game very very fun, i love this kind of games where you can build your empire by gathering resources.The game was very dificult to understand at the beginning, it should have a tutorial, but hey! Good work :D also the music is very nice :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]