Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Alma

by Vallar - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First Ludum Dare so I thought of something simple as an adventure game (originally the focus was narrative and other things but I ran out of time).

Since it has reported that some people found the game was broken and people couldn't advance in the story. I have included another version fixing the problems they may have had and the original version that worked for some of the people. Try the original first, please. If not, then the fixed one. If anything was broke let me. Thank you very much.

Prepare for the worst art ever!

Alma is a little girl that loves to go on adventures.

Movement: WASD
Inspect an object: Left Mouse Click on it.
Interact with an object: Stand near it (preferable if you can touch it) and Left Mouse Click on it.
Mr. Nomo can be talked to by clicking on him.


Twitter - @Va11ar

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#465Audio2.83
#498Humor2.41
#823Mood2.68
#1014Theme2.44
#1022Innovation2.44
#1131Overall2.45
#1157Fun2.02
#1164Graphics1.95

Comments

mutuware says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:00am

Theme music is pretty good.

simileinchen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:15am

Shows a lot of potential! Needs some polish and could be a really fun game.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:30am

Despite graphics being silly and stuff, I actually enjoyed this game. It has a story behind it :)

P.S. Is Mr. Nomo a deer or..?

bazld says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:30am

A very imaginative adventure. Is the game over when I sleep? Its gone very dark... And yes, thats a catchy tune :)

Enjoyed your post mortem too - sounds like you learnt a lot (which is a big part of LD).

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:19am

That was a bit weird - in a good way.

Zoomyzoom says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:20am

This was very ambitious! You have managed to pack it full of features :) However, a little more polish would go really far!

jab says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:25pm

I liked the theme and music, however the text was hard to read at times. Very good considering this is your LD!

Bendix says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Oh boy ...

Vallar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Woha, feedback now that is something I didn't expect :O

First thank you very much!

Now, let's see...

@Mutuware -- part ways thanks to another LD contestant that helped me out with a hint. :D Thank you very much.

@simileinchen -- Thank you very much. Sorry about the art, I am a bad artist.

@42IsCoding -- Haha, yes, Mr. Nomo is definitely a deer. Sorry for my mad art skeels. Thank you very much. :)

@Bazld -- Thank you very much. Yes, the game ends when you sleep there were big plans but as you read, I couldn't meet them all. Sorry for being cryptic with the ending.

@Techblogogy -- I'll take that as a compliment? Thank you very much. Hope you enjoyed it :)

@Zoomyzoom -- Thank you very much. Yes, it was something different completely but I had to work on it to reduce it to what it is now. I am sorry for the art but definitely worth thinking about polishing it.

@jab -- I am sorry about the text, I honestly ran out of "quick to achieve" ideas so I just went by changing font colors. I hope it didn't force you to strain your eyes and squint. I am truly sorry.

@Bendix -- I hope that is a good oh boy? :O

Anshzinc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Enjoyed the game. I didn't think art is that bad, very likeable infact.

SaxonRah says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Not bad! Reading text was hard until i figured out i could keep it up longer by holding the button down. Ending was kinda dark.

Vallar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Thank you very much for the boost of confidence! Glad it didn't irritate you :D

Vallar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:17pm

@SaxonRah Sorry about the text really. I didn't know what to do to make it better with little time available. Thank you for sticking around and playing nonetheless.

As for the ending, yes. It wasn't supposed to end like that, but that is kind of like mid game in the grand scheme of my design (which I had to scrap a lot of). :)

kevinAlbs says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Pretty good game. I liked the music a lot.

BillToWin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:17am

I got stuck at the rat/cheese, I don't know what I was doing wrong. If you want to get better at making pixel art in particular you should check out http://www.pixeljoint.com/. They've got a bunch of great pixel art you can look at, admire and learn from and there is a bunch of great people on the forums who are willing to help anyone learn the art.

Vallar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:53pm

@KevinAlbs I am glad you liked the game. Thank you very much, sir!

@BillToWin, thank you very much for the link. Definitely will check it out. I definitely want to try and get better at this -- it is fun.
As for you being stuck with the rat/cheese. After you get the cheese get as close as possible to the rat and talk to him :). If you are stuck there, let me know and I can explain more.

WetDesertRock says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:43pm

I couldn't get the rat and cheese part either, I got as close as I could to the rat, but nothing really happened when I clicked on the rat, cheese, or spoon.

Also, the text would sometimes go away before I had time to finish reading it, perhaps it was registering mouseup as a way to make the text go away?

Fanttum says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Hard to figure out, and I don't think it worked quite right but idk

Vallar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:55pm

@WetDesertRock -- I am sorry at both problems. I have fixed both and they should now wait till you click again for the text to change. The rat and cheese should be solveable now as well (not sure why you got stuck when others didn't but I made another version for anyone that might have gotten stuck). Again, I am sorry for the frustrations caused.

@Fanttum -- Sorry about any frustration caused. Is there a part in particular that you found hard?

rd127p77 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Could not stop laughing at how bad the art is, other than that I enjoy the game.

Vallar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:43pm

@rd127p77 -- Well I am glad you enjoyed the game and had a laugh from it. :)

Rahazan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:13pm

That was pretty unique.

There are quite a few things that could need improvement:
It was hard to read the text, it kept resetting it seemed, and it wasn't clear what exactly happened upon clicking objects.

I have attempted the game some 4 times (2 times unfixed, 2 times fixed version), On the first playthrough the prison door just opened without having done the puzzle. The second one I completed the puzzle, but couldn't get the door to open.
The third the same deal, the fourth I got to the darkness part, but then I ended up in the prison again.

Music or sound didn't work for me (tried in firefox and chrome). I was able to find the music in the source however, so played that in the background.

Aside from those downsides, it's not bad for a first entry! Especially considering how ambitious it is. It was quite funny and entertaining because of the silly bugs, the music was not bad at all.

I hope it was the end (the fadeout part, which also happened multiple times as I was clicking randomly), as I try to give every game a fair shot at completion :). Good job!

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:23pm

I really like the concept and the actual dialog was good, but even the fixed version was buggy to the point that I don't think that I am able to progress. Sequences don't seem to work properly and tend to go out of order. Also, I'm not sure that the skeleton sprite is imported properly.

It also might have been good to have multiple areas to show dialog, so a conversation could happen while the "inspect" text was displaying somewhere else.

Vallar says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:32am

@Rahazan -- Thank you very much for playing. I am sorry for the buggy state of the game. I didn't have time to fix everything and now that I go back to the "code" I finally discovered that this is about the worst engine to use for something like this.
To fix the bugs I'll have to redo the entire "back end" which is out of the competition's rules.
Though it is strange with the music. In that case, I guess the game wasn't fully loaded by the time you tried to play multiple times. Since I have experienced that a few times when trying to play from the website rather than test the game. The only solution is to wait (since the music file is 7 megs).

@nintendoets -- I am terribly sorry about that. It is a bug done completely as I overlooked the fact to "pause" the game in conversations. Again, I apologize for the weirdness.
The skeleton was actually imported correctly, that is my bad drawing skills though.

Thank you for trying the game out and I am sorry for any inconvenience.

royvanrijn says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:35pm

I'll just call it... unpolished :) Keep practising, the graphics aren't very pleasing and the game play feels a bit harsh, clicking and forcing conversations.

Sunflower says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:11pm

I tried out both regular and fixed versions, couldn't complete either. Also, I don't like the detached text being displayed somewhere in the middle; additionally, it had a tendency to disappear more quickly than I'd expect it to...

It could definitely use much more polish, yes. >.<

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Mr. Nomo! Great work, congrats on your first LD. And your art is not that bad, keep it up!

PapyGaragos says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:28pm

on chrome the music randomly starts and stops, I could find a relation between my actions and the music behavior.

The art could indeed be a bit better but I have seen way worth out there.

Will Edwards says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 11:27am

Really good to have some features; not often we get entries with NPCs and stuff :) So on your first outing you eclipse many other less-adventurous Darers; but you've got a lot of little polishing to do. I found it hard to get immersed :(

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]