Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dimensional Leak

by Blizzard Muffin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first Ludum Dare entry, and I'm pretty proud of myself for actually completing a playable game :)

It's called Dimensional Leak, in which another world has warped into ours, and it is your job to save Earth.

On menu screen :
Up and Down Arrow keys to cycle options
Enter to select option

WASD to move, ENTER to attack.

You need Java 7 to run.

It's not very polished (obviously because of time limit).

I still haven't quite figured out how to create fully functional .app and .exe files out of a .jar, so I've just provided one download link for the runnable jar. (Hope that's okay)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#615Graphics3.00
#741Audio2.33
#790Theme2.89
#805Fun2.76
#868Overall2.89
#1090Innovation2.29
#1730Coolness33%

Comments

BlueSama says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 8:15am

Mind Blowing
Very fun, enjoyable game

MadApples says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:45am

Lots of fun

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:33am

Very simple and kind of fun

bobrocks says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:53pm

This is a very solid first entry! I'll be looking forward to more from you in the future!

phi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:57am

Nice mood, the graphics do their job, audio could potentially be improved. I get a lot of annoying flickering and a weird border around the drawn area on Windows.
It's a good start and fun and simple to play.

owyoow says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:26pm

nice game. I enjoyed it but when I got to the green area i couldn't move anymore

creative630 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Congrats on your first Ludum Dare! I liked the game, got to when it changes to yellow, then wasn't sure if there was any more.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:33am

Thank you everyone for your feedback! The green area is meant to be Earth, because you've just destroyed the dimension, and there isn't anything else after that.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:32am

Great first entry to Ludum Dare! It would be awesome to have feedback or another animation for attacking, at first I could not tell that I was doing anything, I thought my button was not working. I liked the story intro! Great work

CRAZEERUSKEE says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:02pm

Pretty cool game! I love the art in it! :D

frogcheese says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:57am

Pretty good for a first entry, and I liked the graphics and intro cutscene. Quick and simple and not too long. The sound effect when unmerging the worlds was a bit loud...

Aomeas says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:08am

After beating the first level and warping to the green one, I also thought it was a bug since I couldn't move anymore ^_^"
The game is short, but it works well
I don't really like the way you're sticked to a matrix when you want to move, but well, why not
Designs are effective :3

Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:41am

I think it's a great start. You should try to build from it, adding more visual feedback, easing the controls cause it could make a nice little game. Congrats!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]