Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

HEAL

by Stepwise - 48 Hour Compo Entry

HEAL is puzzle-platformer where you must choose whether to brave obstacles as a GHOST or as a KNIGHT - and find ways to move between the two forms.

What form will you take on to progress? Are your typical dungeon hazards there to hinder your exploits, or will you use them to overcome greater challenges that lie beyond?

Development: GameMaker Studio 1.3 Professional
Graphics: GameMaker Sprite Editor
Sound: sfxr, Otomata, Windows Sound Recorder, Audacity

Hope you enjoy playing this as much as I did making it. :)

- Julian

Part of the Beijing Ludum Dare Jam August 2014.

***Chrome Download Problem Solved - file re-zipped.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#268Humor2.84
#333Audio3.10
#422Fun3.20
#424Graphics3.29
#669Innovation3.02
#687Theme3.07
#751Overall3.00
#817Mood2.69

Comments

JannesN says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:33pm

Chrome complains about the windows.zip file.

Stepwise says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:15am

Thanks for the heads up JannesN. Tested with Firefox and Chrome, they both worked. Will look for workarounds in the meantime.

Stepwise says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:16am

*Tested with Firefox and IE. Chrome indeed complains.

Stepwise says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Issue solved on Chrome. Download away. :)

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Best sound effects ever!!!!! Heal sound effect should be used for everything!

Always a fan of pixel art, great flow to the animations and really accessible art style. Great work!

muriel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Nice :)

shatterhand says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Nice art, nice sound. Shame the game is so short ,you should had made at least a couple more of levels so we could see where the concept would take us.

Also, the delay while shooting as a ghost was really annoying :)

BillToWin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Crazy good pixel art, the animation is great on that sword swing as well as the priest. Maybe even too good because the environment art was lacking in comparison, but it is an LD after all. Gameplay was unexpected and interesting, I would have played more if I could have.

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Looks little incompleted. But still cool game!

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:22am

Want to see the final game Julian!

Budda says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:27am

Nicely done, interesting concept, worth expanding on.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Not bad, game goes pretty buggy when I turn into ghost though. You could keep working and improving this to a full game.

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Neat idea, a shame there isn't more to play.

Gametery says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:19pm

You gotta finish this! It's very nicely done and im sure you planned to do more but the time wasn't enough, clearly can see that. Keep up! :)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:46am

Particles are not being very friendly to the engine - harsh framerate drops whenever things explode.

Only one stage, but it made good use of the "skillset switch" mechanic. That's always fun.

Good job!

Cosrnos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:38am

Fun, challenging little game. Has potential with the form switch dynamic. Congrats!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:09am

This is a bad influence on children . . . it teaches them that falling on spikes will turn you into a mermaid. If you're not careful, you could be sued.

KevRevDev says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:16am

Fantastic art for the characters, really interesting game mechanic. I'd love to see an expanded version of this.

zapaman says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:45am

Loved the idea and the character art.

Rehacked says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:56am

why your file has a password ???

chrismcmath says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Great stuff Julian! While short, the experience is fun and the mechanic is solid. What I'd really like to see though is a world filled with your characters; you've managed to pack a lot of personality into a few small sprite sheets. I haven't been so enamoured with pixel art since Cave Story.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Neat little game. A shame you didn't have time to add more levels, it seems like it could be cool :)

Manou says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Nice, needs some background and polish.

lkr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Loved the pixel graphics, and the platforming/controls felt good.

The way you implemented the "second world" was cool and surprising, and how the mechanic had to be used to ultimately get to the end of the level.

Make more levels :)

Chaoseiro says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Good game! Nice particles :D
I would also like to see more levels :P

OFF says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:04am

The sprite are amazing, and the main idea is really interesting, that"s a conditionnal switch but as you made it make this a little bit more fun.
Actually that a great level as a proff of concept, but with more couple it could be cool.
Control are a little bit slow to reacte but that's not a drama.
Actually it's just sad for the level who could be nice looking with a simple tile sprite even a small 8x8.
But that's a cool idea, and you make us hungry.
More levels pleeaaaasse! ;)

hissssssssss says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:34pm

I loved finding the ways you could switch between forms! How clever.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Nice concept. I like the idea of the connection of two worlds meaning you can go from life to death and vice versa. Too bad it was so short.

TautNerve says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Very cool idea, too bad you had no time to make more
levels. You should work on a post - compo version, the
idea is very good and I really like it!

Rehacked says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:19am

Good game it could be much better with proper level design. one question Why ghost characters attack has a delay ? and why ghost is so slow?? its movement speed is like zombies!!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]