Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Parallel Universe

by BlueSama - Jam Entry

Parallel Universe is a shoot'em up side scroll game with Sci-fi/heaven and hell setting. The worlds are heaven and hell and the spaceship can go between the worlds. We planned to bring lot of features like a balance bar that can help to increase combo and give power ups but we have to let go of many of them to have a playable game. We will edit game later to bring those features but for now please excuse us for such terrible game.

** please extract the game to your PC before running it **

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#215Theme(Jam)3.53
#334Graphics(Jam)3.50
#423Mood(Jam)3.00
#525Audio(Jam)2.61
#682Overall(Jam)2.72
#694Innovation(Jam)2.28
#697Fun(Jam)2.33
#1836Coolness28%

Comments

Tanser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:45am

Very nice concept which is well executed. Good job! :)

megaelliott says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:52am

This game has rather nice graphics with detailed and interesting sprites and the background looks very nice however the gameplay is rather lack luster. I often found myself confused about being shot since the bullets aren't very clear and are much to fast, the screen resolution used is very weird meaning only a fraction of the screen is used vertically making movement very limited and the endgame is somewhat annoying with a swarm of enemies which lag up the game. There'snot really any replay value as there is no score or anything really new to do after completing the game.

Even with that said the sprites were very impressive and the game has potential, it just hasn't really been met with the current version of the game.

doomista says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Nice graphics, but better collision detection is needed and couple of powerups to spice up the game.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:41pm

I liked the art a lot, but the gameplay has some problems which broke the expirience, good entry.

Moosefly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Megaelliott already pretty much summed it up, but I did make some other observations too.

Inertia, or at least lots of it, on the player is usually a bad thing in game where control is important. After dying I could no longer control my ship and was only able to swap the background (don't think it affected the "mode") with my mouse so I had to restart the game.

The menus are also somewhat "noisy", it took me a while to figure out what I was looking at, and the fact that the credits and help pages closed absurdly on me didn't help much (took me few tries until I managed to read them :P).

Anssi@MooseflyGames

BlueSama says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:50am

Thank you guys for the really helpful feedback :)
there was supposed to be a Power up & High Score (as you can see in the picture above) but because of lack of time we couldn't manage to add it to the game and terrible collision detection and is and another effect of skipping debugging caused by lack of time.
there is SO many bug in the game so that we ourself call it "The Bug game" and we have plans to fix them.

Toubib says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:35am

i like the graphics. It feels like the game is not finished yet, i am a little bit confused about what to do and what are these invisible ships. Audio is good too :)

BlueSama says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:06pm

some of bugs such as collision detection were fixed.
we will continue to upgrade the game

Rehacked says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:30pm

I didnt see bugs.youve done well on last day for debuging. game is good but if it was a little bit juicy it was a lot more fun.Good job

BlueSama says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:09pm

most of them are fixed and we will try to make it juicythanks

BlueSama says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:11pm

most of them are fixed and we will try to make it juicy
thanks

sorle says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:31am

The idea is not very original but wow!
What an great looking and great sounding game!
I love your artwork and the music gives the perfect mood.
I also like how intuitive the controlls are.
Damn good Job!

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:46am

At first look on screenshot, I thought we have same idea%)
Nice mood and interesting graphics. Gameplay boring a bit and glitching, hope you will fix it soon.

bluesky says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Nice entry, well done.

Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:25am

Graphically beautiful! I agree that a little bit more gameplay depth would help, but even something like a kill counter at the top or a little more juice would have been motivating... as-is your bullets were perhaps a bit too long and a bit too hard to see when coming from the other world's layer (they blended in with the background). It looks like an infinite game, so some indicator of progress would help the player. Additionally, being able to hold down space to autofire... it's a bullet hell, please let us shoot things ._.

Good mood, though. Reminds me of the movie 'What dreams may come,' sort of. Really gives a vibe of all those classical paintings. Thank you for the game!

BlueSama says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Thanks
your comment really gave us energy
autofire has been added as you requested

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]