Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Midnight

by Pinqu - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Midnight

I love collecting treasure in the middle of the night
Fireflies mark the spot
But beware....

Gameplay Controls
Arrow keys to walk
Z to dig

other
R to restart
F increase/decrease window size
Spacebar to skip title screen

Tools used
Gamemaker Studio
BFXR

Known issue(s)
Some objects appear in front of the walls instead of behind them.

This is my first time entering LD48 and the first time I created a game in such a short time. I tried to use some techniques that I hadn't used before. So that took some extra time, but I think it worked out pretty good. At least I was able to create what I had in mind. The code is a bit of a mess but hey who cares ;)

I have uploaded an updated version (out of compo) to Game Jolt. This fixes some problems and makes it possible to escape. http://gamejolt.com/games/adventure/midnight/33139/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#395Mood3.18
#452Audio2.85
#568Humor2.30
#580Graphics3.07
#699Fun2.88
#746Overall3.02
#817Innovation2.81
#1139Theme2.05

Comments

Kinta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:48am

At first I thought "there's nothing here!" then I found the digging button. Then I thought "What now? Where's the treasure?" and I found my first treasure. Then all hell broke loose and I thought "WTF!? OMG I DON'T WANNA DIE!!"

Nice little game. :D

Donutttt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:52am

At first I though ah I see what this game is... then I kept digging... yeah I found some treasure. Awesome. Thought I was done but then I freaked out and the screen started shaking and then WTF WOW. Awesome game.

Jvdo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:29pm

Love the art style! It feels consistent and solid.

The game definitely requires a manual to be played. Having the instructions in the game would be a valuable improvement in my opinion.

skullum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:30pm

Cool game, I hope that kind of stuff will never happen in my own backyard.

A333 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Good concept. Final sequence is quite disturbing =) I wish there'd be a way to survive it, like, digging a hole or something.

Minor complaints: i'm not sure if some fireflies are dummies or i just couldn't aim at the exact spot.

Pinqu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:43pm

@A333: No dummies, it's just that the right spot isn't so big. Will increase it in a polished version.
@Jvdo: Will add this in a polished version.
@allothers: Thanks for rating and the nice comments

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Digging, digging, digging, ohh no! I love it GJ

Clavus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:58pm

That was pretty scary. Neat game, wonder if you can actually escape because I haven't been able to yet...

Conk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Nice idea, would be cool to see it expanded a little bit though. Good job (:

naksrifati says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:21am

I liked the gameplay, is there a way to survive the attack?)

Phaix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:49am

Really Nice! Great that you didn't showed all in the screenshots so it was a surprise what happened.

Gametery says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Very nicely done, but it feels like game is missing the goal. Im sure you can improve this game a lot, loved the art style :)

Dramentiaras says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Nice game! However when I pressed R to restart the game when I died the player spawned invisible.

stoz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Not a bad first LD48 attempt! Definitely a fan of the lighting you used to highlight the fireflies. In future games, it'd be a good idea to put the control scheme in the game itself, because people tend to skip the description on the game's page. Good work!

Pinqu says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:08pm

@Dramentiaras: I wasn't able to reproduce this, I did however end up with another bug :P
@stoz: Thanks for the advice, will definitely do this :)

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:16am

Nice game :D Well done, the sounds are a bit too loud tho :)

Jiyambi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Interesting little game. Very short and concise, which IMO for this competition is a good thing :) The screen shake, fleeing fireflies, and general difficulty in seeing make the ending much creepier!

brokenbeach says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Really great atmosphere. Cute visuals. I had a lot of fun. Good work.

tiff says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:29am

Very cool!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]