Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connected

by Rutger Megahertz - Jam Entry

NOTE:
There's only TWO levels in the game. Unfortunately I was running out of time so I didn't have time to create more levels. But YOU can create and customize your own levels as long as you follow the guides below. Thanks!



This is more of a puzzle toolkit rather than a full game. You are the protector and overwatch of the world's web-connections, restore the connection by getting your signal all the way to the global node.





Create your own levels:


The game has different blocks to build levels out of:

Agent - Source of the signals
TCell - The jagged boxes blocking the "nodes"
Deflector - Pushes your signal in a single direction
Splitter - Pushes your signal in one direction and clones it in the opposite.
Walls - Firewalls, blocks signals



The levels are located in assets/levels/..

Levels are stored and loaded via .bmp files, consisting of 8 x 8 pixels. Each pixel represent a block through a color:


Red:0 Green:0 Blue:255 - AGENT
Red:255 Green:0 Blue:0 - TCELL
Red:255 Green:255 Blue:0 - NODE(Win-state)
Red:0 Green:0 Blue:0(Black) - DEFLECTOR
Red:127 Green:127 Blue:127 (Gray) - SPLITTER
Red:0 Green:255 Blue:0 - WALL (Vertical, cosmetic)
Red:0 Green:127 Blue:0 - WALL (Horizontal, cosmetic)
Red:255 Green:255 Blue:255 - EMPTY TILE


There is only support for 8 levels at the moment because of a limited loading system. But you can modify the existing 8 bitmaps however you like in the assigned palette, just be sure to leave the names intact(yet another last minute flaw!)




Keep in mind that I playtested this game on a relatively powerful computer so there's, little to none, optimizations.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#160Innovation(Jam)3.47
#167Graphics(Jam)3.94
#330Fun(Jam)3.12
#414Overall(Jam)3.18
#505Audio(Jam)2.69
#571Theme(Jam)2.67
#2124Coolness10%

Comments

alvarop says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:56am

I was only able to play two levels. I didn't quite get how to advance, so I had to do some trial and error.

TheWriting1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:34am

I like it, other than being limited to only two levels it's a pretty fun game :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:57am

Sorry if it wasn't clear from the description, but I had only time to design two levels.

so NOTE:
There are only two levels! But you can edit the .bmp files in assets/levels/.. to create your own levels, as long as you follow the guide above and keep the names.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:57am

Thanks for the comments by the way! :D

Muush says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:10am

I didn't get what I was supposed to do in the second level. I love the visuals though

lau16menor says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:39am

Even though just two levels, figuring out how the game worked was really satisfying! Love the graphical style too!

Cake&Code says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:05am

Looks very cool, and could have some really great puzzles. Hope to see this get expanded upon post-LD!

Geti says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:58am

Enjoyed what there was to enjoy - a "you are winner!" screen would have gone a long way rather than just repeating though ;) cool system. I don't really get the "connected worlds" part, just connected, haha.

coldman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:12am

The gameplay and objectives should be more explicits. Maybe some tutorial levels would have been good.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:47pm

I really like its minimalistic look. I was a bit confused at first, but then I figured everything out.

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:40am

Despite being very short, I loved the art design. Very clean cut and expressive for something so simple, though the controls seemed rotated to me.

goerp says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:48pm

'What am I doing wrong on this level?', I thought
I did not read properly the second level is the last level!
I really like the look of the game.

For me the controls are wrong, they should be rotated 90 degrees. But that's always a bit tricky for this kind of view.

FrozenCow says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Nice concept and it looks really polished. It's too bad you didn't have time for more levels, but this is already pretty impressive.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]