Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Elementry

by FineSpun - Jam Entry

PLEASE READ BEFORE PLAYING.

Survive the elements.



Controls:
WASD to move.
1 = Fire Bullet
2 = Earth Bullet
3 = Water Bullet
Mouse to aim.
Left Click to Fire.


Fire beats Earth, Earth beats Water, Water beats Fire.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#184Audio(Jam)3.47
#304Fun(Jam)3.18
#410Mood(Jam)3.04
#421Overall(Jam)3.17
#518Graphics(Jam)3.00
#554Innovation(Jam)2.73
#574Humor(Jam)1.75
#681Theme(Jam)2.21

Comments

FineSpun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Please note that there may still be bugs as the game hasn't been extensively tested. Reporting them would be appreciated! Thanks Guys!

Fanttum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Cool idea, some easier way to select which type your using would have been nice

leDragoon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:30pm

I'm getting some pretty bad input lag(game not recognizing when I press a key)

Aomeas says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Gameplay is pretty neat and allows scoring, but I didn't quite understood the link to the theme

TinyHat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:33pm

93 ennemies down! I really enjoyed the sounds & music in your game. It lacks a bit of variety, but the principle is clever and pretty fun!

(You missed a perfectly good occasion to make a pun with "earth, wind and fire" though :D)

psydack says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:35pm

I like the idea, but it too repetitive after 10 waves. Maybe other follow on players way (like circle or trying to get player from backside) btw, I like this style of game.

Fre says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Works well, no bugs, fun to play!

Killbert says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:37pm

If the graphics were to be improved, and spiced up, it would actually be a very good casual game. If you are going to go and continue developing it, then invent some more gamemodes.

shimage says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Nice game! I felt some oriental mood.

Bozwellox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Good concept although it arguable doesn't connect to the theme incredibly well. But the game's great fun and certainly addictive

BinaryPie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Easier element switching would make the game much more enjoyable (Maybe something on your right hand so you don't have to leave WASD). Music variety was nice. Fun game.

hoyt hoy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Nice defender.
Maybe a easy way to change the shoot style would be great.

FineSpun says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Originally the switching of bullet type was using the right click of the mouse. However we thought that you'll loop through all types(fire -> earth -> water) so we decided to use 1,2,3 to directly choose. Anyway, thanks guys. Appreciate it. :)

xandy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:06pm

i cant fire or move after pressing enter. type switching works however

Shivur says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Cool action game! Just put the button to change munition type where I don't have to quit wasd to press.

X-0r says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:22pm

I liked the way enemies swarm at you, and combining action with a bit of thinking to actually use the correct weapon.

Switching the firemode is a bit counter-intuitive though :( I need the left hand for movement already, so it's hard to reach the keys.

Not sure if it's a bug, but... going diagonally makes you move faster. Anyhow, nice flashy graphics, even if more enemy types would be appreciated :)

bob_fish says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 11:59am

Really nice game! Loved the music and the idea was great, pretty fun! Don't really like it being 1,2,3 to change, maybe just make it one button to cycle through them? idk, how you have it might add to the challenge. Well polished. Good Job!

ajopart says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Not bad at all. not easy to switch from weapon to weapon while moving.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]