Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

e|merge

by MoonlightBomber - Jam Entry

A visual novel about a boy and a girl who may or may have not met before. Mysterious portals are the key to rediscovering who they really are.

Made with Ren'Py.

2014.9.1 UPDATE: I've made an enhanced version that addresses some of the concerns brought up in the comments section. Thanks for notifying.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#513Audio(Jam)2.66
#574Theme(Jam)2.66
#576Humor(Jam)1.74
#646Mood(Jam)2.47
#676Innovation(Jam)2.35
#745Graphics(Jam)2.05
#764Fun(Jam)1.74
#779Overall(Jam)2.10

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Can't run the game, nothing happens when I open it.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:07am

Last Man Standing: What OS are you running?

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:22am

That was not a game.

aeveis says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:49am

The story didn't really provide any interaction other than clicking through the text. I was confused by why there were pixels, and how them getting together again would solve the war.

gnx says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:01am

What it says on the tin. I think at least a bit of interactivity would've been nice. Also the visuals could've been more interesting, they did get better towards the end though. Audio and writing worked very well and I feel the story was got conveyed well.

Interesting.

mklee says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:06am

I would have liked a little more interaction even if there were some simple dialogue choices. The music suited the tone of the story really well though.

ninjascript says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:24am

An interesting choice for entry in a game competition. Good job on creating something.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:45am

I have not read the story but .. this is not a game

Sunflower says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:38pm

The story was a bit confusing, especially with all these pixels and such; it left a lot to be explained. And yes, this is not a game. >.<

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:43pm

That story... was not really fleshed out as well as it could have been. While I have no issues with a text-only game design, I don't think you made the best use of Ren'Py for it - I was expecting a lot more play with text style and positioning to make use of the huge game window.

Have you considered using Twine? It's great for interactive and kinetic fiction like this.

yodamaster says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Where's the game? Just text and music ...

Snoother says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:26pm

I really liked the story and the mood set by the music and graphics, but I have to second what GrooveMan said: it would probably be better in Twine. I admit a bias towards Twine, but I feel a choiceless narrative like this is very much possible in Twine while not so much in Ren'Py. As is, it doesn't feel like much more than electronic non-interactive fiction. But then I am tied because I do like the story, but I would like to see it enhanced through some degree of interactivity.

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:52pm

More of a story than a game. Visual novels generally include some sort of decision making that affects the outcome. Story was pretty good though.

SnoringFrog says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Not really a game, so I'm not really sure how to rate it since this is a game development challenge. The story wasn't particularly my thing either, sorry :/

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:08am

More of a story with no options so not a game in my book :( I'll take even meaningless choices over no choices...

Hint - press and hold Space to get to the end

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:45pm

A nice story. I'm just going to tell you now but I gave you 5 stars on the audio category because it was awesome. A story and not a game but good job.

TKia_ says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:55am

Suffers from the same problems my entry did :P I love the visuals and the audio is fantastic, though. And your story idea had potential, I really liked it.

Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:42am

So, I played the updated version... the opportunity to walk into literal invisible walls does not a choice make! I'm fully willing to admit that I may just be too stupid to get the plotline--a guy who loves VNs tries to avoid VN cliches to find his perfect girl, then gets stuck in a maze that he doesn't actually have to navigate, and then meets her in a platformer, kisses her, and realizes that he's ascended to godhood and ended a war? It just seems kind of incoherent, which is why I assume I must not have understood...

Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Hey, another RenPy user !

The story was a bit confusing. I think you could have used more visual assets or "clearer" ones (like some stock images) because I didn't really understand what I was looking at and it didn't quite match the mood in my opinion.

Not completely unrelated but I'm kinda sad hearing people claim that visual novel aren't games =/.

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:16am

No interactivity, but I see you did what you were able to do yourself. Nice story and nice hustle. Good luck in the future.

Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Nice story! I included it in part 28 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/Hmt93jxkWGQ

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]