Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hot and Cold

by jahmaican - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I failed miserably. Level design beat me. Nonetheless, I did something!

So, the game is about a wizard that can move between dimensions and shoot spells. There are barrels. And fire.

There's a fully playable tutorial for you, but that's it. No more levels, I just didn't make it in time. Still, I hope someone will appreciate the concept.

Chrome says the Windows build is "malicious". But it's not.
(or is it?)
(no, really, it isn't)

I will finish it some time, okay! (hopefully soon)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#197Humor3.03
#249Audio3.26
#329Graphics3.47
#367Theme3.50
#524Fun3.08
#568Mood2.97
#654Overall3.11
#677Innovation3.00

Comments

pvtroswold says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:16am

Would love to have seen this finished more! Looks nice so far

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Nice graphic style :)

Rekedens says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Art looks ace.

Zayron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:17pm

I do like the concept. :)

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:19pm

I like the graphic style to.

slumber says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:12pm

very nice. i enjoyed the art style. fairly large file size though. other than that great job!

jahmaican says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:19am

That's a good suggestion. I uploaded a smaller version (removed unused music).

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:19pm

A nice art style

Sanguine says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:20pm

The tutorial was well done and clear, it's unfortunate you weren't able to do more levels :/

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:42pm

I WANT MORE LEVELS! This game is addicting! Nice job!

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:42pm

It looks really nice, and the part that you finished plays well. I think having a fully-working tutorial that looks good and shows off the concept is much more preferable to multiple levels that aren't as polished.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:47pm

I like the design that has the game and the idea is good, I hope you add levels

Pierrec says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:55pm

The graphics are nice and the concept is good, but there are a lot of annoying things I want to point out if you want to improve it :

- The walking is a bit too slow
- with the perspective effect it's hard to face perfectly the small corridors, same things with aiming at things. you have the impression to face the objet/corridor but actually doesn't
-I don't really get why I have to use the mouse to aim while I'm using the keyboard to face direction. I think it would be better if the game was keyboard only OR if the facing was directed by the mouse (you know, like in a Diablo)

You should work a bit more on it, it seems to deserve it :)

SpringPowered says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Cool. Shame you didn't get to make any levels.

Wevel says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Great idea, would love to see more.

whilefun says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:56am

I definitely let out an audible "nooooo" when the game said there were no actual levels. The tutorial was pretty neat. I hope you are going to make more levels for this and release a more complete game. Good work :)

DDFranky says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:44am

Wait how did you failed? You made a really neat concept with a fully functional tutorial, really cool graphics and an intriguing and fun mechanics. Yeah maybe you did not had time to create other levels, but I think that what you've done is much more valuable.

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:20pm

It's a very good concept and I really liked the art. I enjoyed your humor, too. Nice job!
And man, you didn't fail! Why didn't you tried to fit in the jam and finished it?

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:33pm

And now I have "Hot N Cold" song from Kate Perry stuck in my head. THANK YOU VERY MUCH.

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Great game! I'd love to see this continued

Hempuli says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Chrome marked the game as malware; could you check it with Virustotal.com or other such service?

jahmaican says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Sadly Chrome tends to do this with various Windows builds, I'm not the only one affected by this problem. I can only assure you there's no malware in the package.

I also linked the smaller download to Gamejolt now, on my PC Chrome does not flag it as malicious.

vividhelix says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:01pm

I loved this. I was so sad there were no actual levels :(

The wizard and its animation were awesome!

moi93101 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Wizard's gait is awesome, I don't know why, but it is. Too bad there are so few level...

igoramendola says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Cool! Although it doesn't have more levels, the tutorial shows a nice gameplay and an interesting concept (which fits well with the theme). Also, the graphics and music are good.

* Maybe a windowed option on a future version could be nice :D

Rehacked says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:38am

Nice game Good job

cstudios says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:21am

the controls (the enter for reading the sign) should be mapped differently. to bad there are no levels just the tutorial. The concept is great, enjoyable. the music... stuck in my head :D

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Oh its too bad there were no more level. The game is top notch. Great job! And don't get too down on yourself, you did awesome.

arhpositive says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 5:24pm

It may be unfinished but just throw in another five or six levels and it's a good game imo. Music and graphics are nice from what I've seen. Keep working on it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]