Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sphere Harmony

by explodingrabbit - Jam Entry

Rack up points by orbiting planets in this lyrical, abstract space game.

You are a spaceship flying through a field of planets, but with limited control.

However, when you run into and enter a planet's atmosphere you are able to orbit that planet by clicking the planet itself with the mouse. As long as you are in orbit you will collect points and gain speed. Click any empty space to stop orbiting.

But look out! Gravitational forces are pulling planets together destructively. You just might get smashed.

Jump from orbit from orbit to gather points for as long as possible without getting squished!

Look out for powerups too!

Built in Unity.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#316Innovation(Jam)3.15
#423Theme(Jam)3.08
#502Audio(Jam)2.72
#553Fun(Jam)2.73
#594Graphics(Jam)2.85
#611Mood(Jam)2.63
#659Overall(Jam)2.77
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

Bozwellox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Lovely game, it's one of those ones that's easy to pick up but difficult to master. The graphics and sound are pretty good

Aevek says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:15am

Almost relaxing kinda drifting thru space. Then planets start smashing into each other. Dare I say epic? One thing I would have like to see is moving faster in lower orbits. Just an extra touch of realism that I think could add a lot of depth to gameplay. I already lost more time than I was planning on to this one though. Great job.

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:52am

After some initial confusion, discovered a really neat concept here. Would love to see a bit more of the gameworld, but that might mean making it a bit easier. I like the sounds!

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:19am

2949 points!

Oxeren says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:19am

Nice concept!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:20am

Very relaxing game. A little confusing initially, but it was great after getting past that.

Cake&Code says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:21am

Definitely agree with Bozwellox, I picked it up pretty quickly but I still feel like a novice at it! Definitely a lot of fun :)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Nice game, I made 2057 points, also I liked a lot the player trail.

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:55am

this is kinda cool. just a little wider field of view would have been nice. i like the audio quite a bit. nice work.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:01am

It's a good idea mayne. - Flurkin

goffmog says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:32am

Very interesting idea, lovely mood, lots of style. Might be improved dramatically if there was some sort of goal such as a wormhole you were heading for and an indication of how far away it was, then you could have levels :) (if there was, I didn't notice it, sorry) I have to second the call for a wider field of view too.

pjchardt says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:56am

Very fun and addictive. I would play a decent amount of this game on a mobile device, it would feel very natural with touch controls. Well done!

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Neat game, took me a bit to figure out that you have click on the planets to change orbit. Nice visual style! Good work!

HotBoxGames says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Nice concept - wish it was a bit faster paced and you zoom in/out. The explosion sounds remind me of Gunman Chronicles, an old Half Life mod.
Good effort!

shashwat says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Interesting game. Had fun

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 2:27pm

Really nice aesthetics, very relaxing and fun mechanics.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]