Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

A letter for God

by bluesky - Jam Entry

Do you think that our world is full of sadness and hatred.
Do you wish to change the world in the may you want it to be .
Now , This is your chance .
Let's see what kind of world you will create .
Are you going to be the human saviour or to be the evil destroyer ?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#127Mood(Jam)3.64
#165Audio(Jam)3.52
#225Innovation(Jam)3.33
#243Graphics(Jam)3.72
#248Overall(Jam)3.41
#319Humor(Jam)2.54
#391Fun(Jam)3.00
#399Theme(Jam)3.14

Comments

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:21am

Pretty cool, liked how the choices affected my relations with the other places in the world. Good job on this!

Gabestph says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:23am

This looks amazing. Could you upload it to Kong or something so we don't have to download it? I feel like more people would be willing to actually try it that way.

Gabestph says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:28am

I played through it a few times, and it's interesting. This type of game is fun for me, and it could become amazing if you 1) continue to polish it for a bit (a criticism that isn't valid because it can be made of EVERY ludum dare game) and 2) get a proofreader. There's a lot of misspellings and minor mistakes that collectively take away from the stories.

Gabestph says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:32am

Also: doing NOTHING makes you a "powerfuldemon". I don't see how. I, personally, often do nothing and yet I'm not all that powerful. There should be an ending where you create an Atheistic world or your powers drain away because people stop believing in you or something.

Gabestph says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:36am

Are there only two endings? I can only become a "powerfuldemon" or a coldhearted conqueror. Also, why the heck am I "remembered" as anything? I thought I was playing the role of God. God isn't "remembered" because he's immortal- he'll always be alive to continue shaping the world. Also, there's no real answer to some of the questions, even though i can think of an answer, and all of the things in your power to do are done in a way that could be coincidences. Why am I "Remembered" when people don't know for sure I've done anything? People wouldn't hate me if the US nuked Brazil. They'd hate the US president, and the ones who've seen the destruction firsthand would complain to me. Still like the concept, though.

bluesky says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Thank you for your commnets "Gabestph" there are 3 ending but in the edit it will be 4.I know that god is immortal and i really wanted you to play as a god but unfortunately some of us don't live in a free world and there are something that we are not allowed to do.another thing is that i have learned english language by myself so i apologize for my bad grammar and mistakes.

BlueSama says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:33am

Nice one Big Bus :)

Rehacked says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:39pm

nice game,Goodjob

Serena.Gray says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:46am

This is the best implementation of connected worlds I've seen so far, well done.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Well done! Good art style and I Love the concept as well

last warrior says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Very good work, your game is very very very veryyyyyyyyy cool

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:10pm

This one was pretty cool

Aglavra says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:29pm

I liked the game, esoecially the art and music. The effect of some choices seemed illogucal to me... And some note about downloads: 1) Web version is not working 2) When I downloaded Windows version from GamesJolt, I got 90 mb archive, that included Windows, Mac and Linux version. Please, separate them, so people culd download only the desired version :)

Tosic says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:34pm

That is the nice game, I liked the starting menu and the letters and endings, although it may be little longer because I could pass it over and over unitil I reached the best result.

Overall a really good game! :D

kaa says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Very good game. This is an outstanding idea! Also I like music.

Moosefly says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Lovely art and nice atmosphere, although sometimes the choices and their potential consequences were quite unclear (do I really have to love Justin Biebers music to not want to murder him?). Would love something deeper with a similar system, but good job considering the jam time limit!

Conqueror of world, Anssi@MooseflyGames

slowfrog says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Interesting game, if somewhat simple. The concept of being God and receiving the requests of people is cool.
The English is a bit broken, perhaps you could ask for some native English speaker to proofread your texts.
I enjoyed playing several times to discover several endings.

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Good take on the theme, very nice art style. A bit heavy of a game, but good work overall!

waynaul says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:31pm

The artwork is well done. I also like the spinning globe.

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Very nice entry... great mood scores here.

elefantopia says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Very beautiful game, very moving. Some humor, too. Thought-provoking.

banana4life says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:32pm

OS/X and have only exit game displayed, music plays and nothing else happens :(

TKia_ says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Beautiful music, beautiful art, thought-provoking story. Probably one of the better games I've seen this LD; definitely better than mine, and I also tried to go story/feels heavy with it.

Kayelgee says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:53pm

This game is really nice. As it was already mentioned the choices aren't that obvious at times. It was fun to find all endings.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Great artwork and presentation, but you would really benefit from approaching your topic with a tad more subtlety. Also might be a good idea to find a native speaker of english to edit your texts.

blurryroots says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:00pm

I like the concept of showing the player how everything is interconnected and tipping the balance in favour of someone might bring disadvantages for another one. The mechanics are also solid and help convey the message. What I didn't like was the prospect, that equilibrium will never be achievable. But I guess that's kind of a world view thing. Also kudos for choosing such a controversial topic =P

yodamaster says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:04pm

"web" should be playable online, not a download.

Tesrym says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Yup. Web still shows up like a dropbox download.
May I suggest google drive? :)
I'll check on you later mate!

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:52pm

Interesting idea, but I found the outcomes a bit random - though I understand that's part of the game and at least the feedback system was good so I knew how to approach it the next time.

Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:25am

I would have liked for the gameplay to have been a little bit more consistent. I felt like the impacts of my choices were effectively random, and that I was punished for solving problems. The structure of the game was I think kind of hamfisted (Maybe write in your native language and get a translator on the team?), but still, kudos for you for trying the topic!

Crefossus says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:03am

I love that your choices usually have unintended consequences because of the problem complexity.

In general it leaves the creative power that you might get as a god out (since there are only 3 choices). Often some basic viewpoints are left out.. like with beiber there is no neutral choice.

The graphics were good but disconnected a little bit. The menu worked great but could have had more work.

bluesky says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Thank you for your comments . It seems like that the OS/X version and the Web version has problem . I will try to fix it but I am not sure to be successful .

Lvyn says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Good, enjoyed the Bieber part xD

Tom Liebmann says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Really good title! Played through a couple of times just to see the different results. Music also adds to the mood and the drawings are impressive!

chowee says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Nice game !

I like the basic mechanic of the game but I find that the choices offered are maybe too few and should be expended a bit (maybe 5-6 choices). I often felt disconected between what I chose and what I was really feeling about the situation at hand.

The art style is nice and the music relaxing. Good job !

rhaasken says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Fun game with lots of replay value, but it could be a lot better if you got somebody to proofread.

Dohan says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Nice illustrations! Some of the moral dilemmas or their consequences are a bit forced, but it's an interesting entry nonetheless.

H1S2 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Great game! really enjoyed the gameplay and the storys behind the different prayers. Good job!

bluesky says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:09am

Hello All.
We Thank you for your Comments about the art of the game.We hope you guys enjoy the game and have good time with it!!.

Sep 7, 2014 @ 11:50am

The sketches were beautiful. Fantastic idea, and well executed (particularly Bieber). Text areas were a bit awkward and some decisions were pretty unforgiving but great overall.

frogcheese says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Lovely art and music. The results of the choices felt a bit arbitrary - some of them were considered 'bad' by the game when they just as well could be considered 'good' or 'neutral'. Either way I had fun with it for the short while it lasted.

CoolIron says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:04am

Awesome! Liked joke about bieber and unexpected turn with soldier. Great job!

Ramiel says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 9:37am

Audio and visuals are great.
The idea is quite interesting but to me it felt a bit forced that the "good" decisions always had real "evil" consquences while the "evil" decisions had "good" consequences.

SPOILER!

I found the decision for the drunk father really destroyed the fun of the game to me. Knowing the consequences I could only choose to restrict the freedom of a lot of people who didn't do anything bad, let the mother get killed or to murder the father. In my opinion murder is one of the worst things that can be done. The father has an alcohol problem. That is no reason to kill him. That is a reason to help him get out of it. Yet it was the only choice with "good" consequences. That was pretty frustrating especially as there would have been so simple solutions that would have helped the father and the rest of the family like sending him to a rehab centre.

END OF SPOILER

Maybe if the choices/consequences had been a little more subtle or more decions had been available I would have enjoyed it more.
Of course this is just my personal opinion. So please take no offence.
And you never get everyone satisfied with a game, so keep up the good work. ;)

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:12am

Enjoyed the questions, simple, but good art, never got to see how latin america felt from the last question, because there is no delay before the win screen comes.

Morusque says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 6:39pm

Very good. I was often surprised by the choices the game considered to be best (*spoiler* most of them tend to be somewhat selfish in my opinion).
Also I wish there was a bit more connections between each problem (maybe if the situations you have to deal with depends on your previous choices).

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]