Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Lucy's Journey

by ajopart - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#765Fun2.81
#771Theme2.92
#838Humor1.90
#894Audio1.93
#977Overall2.76
#992Innovation2.50
#1002Graphics2.35
#1005Mood2.36

Comments

hephaestus_rg says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 10:34pm

cool concept.

first impression:

i didn't notice the play button, maybe make it jiggle/move or something

i had a hard time in the first section as a totally new player, maybe ease it up a bit for the first 10 seconds so the player can get a feel for the controls.

Agecaf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:27am

It gets really hard really fast. A small intro with less spikes would have been great to get used to the controls...

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Whoa, hardcore! The platform changing was a fun idea, but a little too difficult for me

Toubib says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:48pm

This game is hard, but nice idea. Couldn't finish the first level xD.

ajopart says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Raahhh I'm sorry. I tried to put all my ideas in one level but failed to introduce them smoothly... Thanks a lot for those feedback, btw.

sidebinder says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:09am

I'm now dedicated......I am going to finish the first level!!! haha great game :) i'm a little addicted ;)

okeedokeben says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:39am

Super hard, but great concept!

Demorro says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:50am

Use a different colour for the second platforms next time. Black was really hard to make out, I didn't see them at all for a long time. Other than that, a solidly implemented platformer. Kudos.

zillix says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:14am

Great idea! The first level is pretty brutally difficult, and the checkpoints were well placed.

Zolmeister says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:56am

Man, this game is so hard! Reminds me a bit of super meat boy

PinkNinja says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:36am

Really hard, but that is the funny thing :D

JNyknn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:38am

Gameplay is challenging, which is good thing, but those graphics... if you are ever going to make a post-compo version, improve graphics. Otherwise the game is nice.

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:57am

Great game :)

ajopart says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:24am

@JNyknn : Yep, you are right. Needs better graphics. And sound too, and levels, items...

@Zolmeister : definitely an inspiration. I' gonna play this game again

@Demorro : sure !

psychomonster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:23am

Nice concept, really fast and responsive gameplay. The dark platforms are a little bit to dark... but yeah, gameplay is working, fits perfect the theme and has been done in 48h... good job!

Pinqu says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:30am

Nice entry. Hard to master, but addictive. Unfortunately I don't have the time to play :(

nonetheless says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Hell, it's pretty hard from the start.
I like the death effect. And also death counter is a nice addition :) Great job overall.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:25pm

It's quite hard to see platforms when they are in "other dimension", maybe my screen is the reason. Still pretty hard and enjoyable entry.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Game is interesting, the concept for linking worlds makes sense. It seemed however at time I would try to jump and it wouldn't jump, so the responsiveness isn't quite there. Controls could use a little refining. Other then that, keep on goin!

Rehacked says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:43pm

good job

WesleyJohnson says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Cool. Very similar to mine like you said, but also different. I think the concept is good and I liked the execution on it. Checkpoints are a nice touch as well. It does get pretty hard pretty fast as others have said, but I think you're onto something with this.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Real eerie design and graphics.
Good work!

RaycoSantana says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:09am

Ultra hard but I like that, good job! :D

Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Nice idea but super hard sometimes.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Couldn't get past the the white wall at the beginning of the first level; the world switching felt very unresponsive. >.<

banana4life says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:27am

A little bit strange controls for me and i miss music.

ajopart says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:38am

@ Sunflower : Could you please tell me which browser you use ? Thanks

Endurion says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:52am

Not too innovative, but almost well done :)

The controls are finicky, and the difficulty is outright brutal. I did make it to the first checkpoint though ;)

Trilby says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:45pm

I was curious to check this because my game also has Lucy in the title. Lol

The game seems similar to Antichromatic. The beginning is frustratingly difficult.

whalebot says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Once again I am made to regret how poor I am at platformers...

MerlijnVH says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Pretty fun, good job!

mrjohnson22 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 4:17am

You got some great level design here! Other than that little crush-trap near the middle of the stage (you know which one I'm talking about :P) the navigation challenges had just the right amount of difficulty: not easy by any stretch, but not so hard that they made me want to give up. I also liked how every piece of the stage felt like its own little trial; each part of the stage had a unique challenge to it. There was also a very nice mix of twitch platforming with think-two-steps-ahead puzzles. Controls were fine, graphics did their job (except maybe using a dark background was a bad idea, as I can image the black platforms being hard to see on some screens) (and nice intro screen!), checkpoints were laid out fairly, the game's length was just right...overall, this game is a lot of fun!

Sep 15, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Nice idea, but I think it starts off too hard, before you get used to it. Also pressing spacebar doesn't work while you're still holding jump.

Sep 15, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Wow for me the game was very dificult >_<' excelent work! and very nice concept :D

creative630 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Cool game, very hard! I found a bug that when I hold up and right at the same time space-bar does not register.

creative630 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Cool game, very hard! I found a bug that when I hold up and left at the same time space-bar does not register.

lkr says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Fun platformer with nice and responsive controls :)

20 deaths later I couldn't figure out how to pass the crushing platforms right after the second checkpoint though, so I gave up there.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:15pm

harsh difficulty progression but fun to play. well done!

commodoreKid says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Well, I'm having hard time having an opinion on a game that is quite similar to what I was seeing thousand times. I'm sorry about that but it's true. Character also doesn't face left at all. It is the same thing over and over again, I don't know what to say about it. Graphics are not that fancy, idea is not original.. I'm sorry but I would brainstorm more on the game idea if I were you.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]