Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Oasis Patrollers

by slakhorn - Jam Entry

Note: Highscore is saved locally only.

August 26 "Typo" update:
Fixed droprate, was 1% but should have been 10%
fixed score menu bug, level name was misspelled so you could not restart the game.

IMPORTANT: If you get stuck, you can unstuck yourself with the Nitro boost (shift key).

Earth is fucked. After a barrage of Nuclear fire, nothing but desert remains. Well, except for one small village, constantly under fire by marauding bandits.

It's your job to protect this village. Drive around in your trusty jeep and drive the bandits away! Play to attain the highest score possible in this cool twinstick shooter. Smash their morale as you plow through their ranks with powerups such as Spread Fire, Homing Missiles and the Jimmy Hendrix Experience!

We recomend that you play this game with two players: one player behind the keyboard ("The Driver") and the second player with the mouse ("The Gunner").

Den of Thieves:
Anne Wijning - Programming
Jere Jalonen - 3D & visuals

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#405Graphics(Jam)3.33
#480Fun(Jam)2.86
#494Overall(Jam)3.05
#607Audio(Jam)2.05
#630Mood(Jam)2.58
#721Innovation(Jam)2.14
#750Theme(Jam)1.76
#1626Coolness37%

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Quite nice 3D graphics for a jam game, and it has a good arcade-y feel to it. Unfortunately I keep getting a bug where the jeep will get stuck and can only spin on the spot. Otherwise good job, especially on the models.

slakhorn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:59am

Getting stuck is very annoying indeed and it's a bug I couldn't get out in time. You can, however unstuck yourself by using the Nitro boost (shift).

BinaryPie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Jeep handling felt kinda weird. Fun though. Would've been nice with to have more sound effects.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Controls are weird and invisible walls are too close to the base. Got me a while to figure that I shouldn't go forward. It looks impressive, if a bit to grey. In a Mad Max-like setting you could go all over the place with extravagant vehicle design, seems like a lost opportunity. But the way it is, with fixed controls and level design it could be a solid arcade shooter. Just drop the idea of people playing it together on the same keyboard and mouse. Even if there is another person around, it's not very comfortable.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:29pm

The controls are very counter-intuitive and bothersome; in most games you have either up/down/left/right on WSAD and the direction changes instantly, or front/back/l. turn/r. turn on WSAD and the direction changes over time. Here it's up/down/left/right *and* the direction changes over time, which makes the vehicle a pain to control since you can't just make a delicate turn left or right. That's particularly annoying when I tried to grab power-ups.

Too bad, because the game, while very unoriginal, could be more fun to play otherwise; I'd like to see that rainbow/aurora upgrade in action. ^^"

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:35am

Cool graphics and setup. Driving controls definitely need refinement, and maybe a little better map system. If this was a little more tightened up control-wise, it could be a real blast to play. Keep up the good work!

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Nice entry! It played okay, though the controls and jeep movement was a bit weird. Nice graphics for the short time span, too.

juaxix says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Very funny, please fix controls :)

Miziziziz says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:05am

I found the controls to be really strange for the vehicle.
Otherwise, graphics were nice, and the gunning was cool.
It was kinda repetitive, though

Jazff says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 6:40am

I made a gameplay video of this:
http://youtu.be/xDHCClriK4s

Tosic says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:29am

Very good graphics and nice idea, also I like the name 'den of thieves'

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]