Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Color Runner

by vinhuman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
I'm beginning work on a post competition version. If you want to rate my game for the 48 hour entry go ahead and play this very rough version now. If you'd rather play a more polished version for fun's sake later, I plan on uploading one this week based on your initial comments!
////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

This is a simple game where you alter the world around you by hitting different color beacons. There are three beacons that consist of the primary colors. This allows for the creation of blue, red, yellow, orange, purple, and green. If a colored block is blocking your way, you must find the beacons that make your world that color, as it will remove that block. Make it to the white orb thing to beat the level.

Colors:
Blue + Yellow = Green
Blue + Red = Purple
Red + Green = Orange
Blue, red, and yellow are their own beacons.

I didn't have time to do much in the way of level design but the basic concept is there.

Space to jump. There are a few more instructions in game.It's currently pretty bugged, some of them are fairly game breaking but what are you going to do with 48 hours?

I didn't get a lot of things done that I wanted to, but I managed to submit the game just in time following a BSOD and an internet outage during the last hour. Feedback welcome!

////////////Bugs and Tips///////////////////////////////

When you exit the map make sure to hit q to restart the level or escape to go the main menu, or else you will infinitely be falling.

Level 7 is semi-broken. You have to hit the red blob twice for it to work.

Pro tip: Press jump just AFTER you hit a wall or spam it, if you press it before it won't really work.

There is some weird graphical clipping glitch that happens on my laptop in the web player but not on my desktop. I didn't have any chance to actually test the web player due to the time constraint so I apologize for that. The game is actually beatable in about 2 or 3 minutes time if you know what you're doing.
////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#304Audio3.15
#337Innovation3.44
#366Fun3.26
#454Overall3.30
#573Humor2.29
#588Mood2.95
#613Graphics3.02
#903Theme2.68

Comments

ShaunJS says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:32am

I really enjoyed the concept! Controls were pretty hard and falling and bouncing back the way you came was a little frustrating. Didn't feel like it was actually super necessary in the end for the character/ball to automatically run. Just meant for a 'waiting' style penalty when you miss something, might have actually benefited from more regular platform controls.

It's cool though! Bonus humour point for the 11/10 title screen.

vinhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:05am

Yeah I agree the automatic running serves almost no purpose in this game right now. It was more so one of those 'initial design' schematics where it was going to be important which direction you were moving when you hit the color blobs.

Unfortunately I wasn't able to finish the level design to a point where that made sense. I probably should set the controls as something more normal once I realized my level design ideas weren't going to be accomplished in the 48 hour period. Thanks for the rating and feedback!

handkor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:20am

Very good puzzle elements and mechanics.

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:21am

hmm personally I like the auto movement direction, it allows for timing, and reactions to come into play more then your typical game. So just make the game revolve around those mechanics and its fine. Fun! gj!

alycarter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:22am

i like how the back face culling makes the floors and walls appear and disappear. controls felt abit unresponsive but the movement was satisfying.

Weaver says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:25am

Laughed at the "White glowy orb of 48 hour graphics" lol.

I like the idea and it was pretty fun to play. The wall jumping felt particularly well implemented.

akios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:26am

very fun mechanics, the best i see till now, youre probaly not a modeler but i think you should have use cubes and not planes to the scenario, it would prevent these normal glitches

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:26am

Nice visuals and interesting concept.

vinhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:30am

I actually did use Cubes instead of planes. The problem was actually something that was going weird with the Unity directional lights.

The raycasting is definitely a bit off and to play this game quickly you generally have to spam space a lot in its current state.

Mr.Cassels says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:30am

the auto-running already being addressed, I love the concept, but Interfacing with the level could be frustrating, such as on level 4 where I kept hitting the yellow orb when trying to wall jump.
with a few tweaks to controls, It could be a real gem though!
(if you made a post-LD version I would love to give it another look)

vinhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:32am

Yep level 4 is another semi-broken level. The original idea was for the orb to put the purple wall back in but there's a couple problems.

1. You can over jump the victory orb thing.
2. You can repeatedly hit it, which definitely is frustrating.

kadybat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:24am

Frenetic and fun! Some minor glitches, but a cool concept with neat graphics that could turn into something really cool!

Kedume Bits says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:06am

Interest concept, but the controls make the game harder. It's posible to break the game jumping out the platforms.

vinhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:40am

Oh yeah it's VERY possible to break the game on most levels. I *think* I'm allowed to fix that so I'll look into it soon I just needed a break once I got it submitted. My quick fix is to tell people to press "q" or escape.

ahmedmohi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:46am

I like the concept and also the Particles player I think it's good and the art isn't bad . good work

midgard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:01am

The overall concept is pretty amazing, I had fun trying to solve every puzzle and it took me some time, but it was really fun so I didn't stop playing! :D

Majko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:03am

Awesome concept! I can imagine this as game for smartphones. But deserves better visual look.

FeYbraNt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:07am

Great idea. I like also that you made a good game with just...particles !!

wolfmother says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:34am

Graphics are nice. Music is very good, but no sound effects.
Very innovative movement mechanic, feels a bit like an infinite runner crossed with Mario 64.
Loses an innovation point for using that same damn remove-obstacle-by-changing-color mechanic (getting a bit sick of that by now).
Good balance of challenge, not too hard, but usually pretty obvious what you need to do.
Worth a playthrough.

tiff says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Really nice concept, well done.

vinhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Thanks for the comments guys. I had never made 2.5d before (I've only been making games for 2 months) so I decided I wanted to specifically because I wanted to use particles and lighting... which of course ended up becoming the entire game.

I agree the remove obstacle mechanic seems forced (especially with the current level design) but I didn't realize other games were using color to do it?

LuisDC says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:54am

Good Idea well implemented.

Some times I felt like the jump wasn't hight enough but eventually I passed the walls so it was my fault.

cardboard says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:09am

The jumping is a bit wonky, making the levels harder than they should be, but the game is still fun.

banana4life says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:20am

Very cool game. Liked the design.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:22am

Overall great, I like the minimalist feel to it, like others have said, the jump is a little finicky

MJamesShort says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:29am

The movement of the player was actually really good! Great job!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:48am

The concept is good, controls can be a little frustrating but it's still fun to play.

DerekRumpler says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:58am

It is a fun game. I also felt like that the speck of light didn't move and the moving made wall jumps frustrating at times. There were also a few times when consecutive wall jumping would give you too much momentum to launch you super high in the air (not sure if you wanted this). Also, in one of your levels, falling down a chasm led to nothingness. I don't think it is a good idea to fall below.

Nonetheless, I hope to see more of your stuff. I really liked this concept, especially how color is used to solve puzzles (although I feel like it has been done before). It has inspired me to want to brush up on my own level design. :-)

Meganopteryx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:42am

This is a really cool trippy game. I like the music. It doesn't seem to exactly use the theme, but I like the changes. I don't like how the music starts over every time you restart a level though. The speed of the music matches the speed of the game very well. It's pretty hard because jumping you have to be right on the platform and it might need to be more responsive. But overall, cool, I like the speed, very fun.

coyyonce says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:16am

This is a beautiful game visually. I also enjoyed the gameplay. The wall jumps are bit difficult to time, but over time it will become easier.

Cake&Code says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:44am

Difficult to master, felt like the wall jump was a bit off but fun!

zdonkeyx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:14am

woo! I love it. I love games that use color combining! You've put together something pretty cool. The mechanics have a great design, but their execution is a bit off, wall jumping was kinda hard.

Lissar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:46am

I really liked the idea of combining colors! I found it a little frustrating to control, though.

vinhuman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:39am

Wow so many comments! Thanks for the feedback everyone I'll try to get around to reviewing all of your entries.

All of your criticisms are very valid and I agree with pretty much everything that's being said. I didn't realize how many games use color combining! I'll have to look into a way to make that mechanic more unique or fun.

The one thing I disagree with some people on is I actually HATE the music. I feel like it was hastily thrown together, as I didn't actually start it until the final hour of the competition.

SelfishGenome says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:30am

Really cool, made me think of ours with the use of colours as a feature for different worlds.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:01am

Hi interesting mechanics, but I found the inevitable returning to the start of levels frustrating. Lovely graphics and sound.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:17am

Nice clean design and a good balance of challenge with the colour combinations. Did find the jumping at times a bit tough though.

vinhuman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:17am

I'll have to check yours out SelfishGnome. There are still a lot of people I'm trying to get through, as I want to give everyone's game a fair play. I just posted out an overly lengthy write up that no one in the world should ever read detailing my plans for the future of this game/my criticisms of it.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:58pm

good idea!

Kerdelos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Makes my day: quite hard, good graphics.. good job !

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Brilliant concept! Looking forward to your polished version! :)

Vennril says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:57pm

I expected way worse after reading your intro text. This was very playable, and I liked the concept and visual presentation. Well done :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Very interesting concept but the most is pretty repetitive and I found timing my jumps pretty tricky. Awesome music.

booyaa says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Really nice to see a new take on infinite runners and wall jumping platformers. I think auto-run is a good thing, forces people to learn timings. Hard as hell, felt a bit too dark, but I suspect in later levels it can get quite colourful (give it's name). Reminds of how Wizball starts off in monochrome and gradually becomes more colourful as you level up.

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:55pm

hard controls but great concept. intro description helps :) good work

psychonull says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:37pm

nice fast puzzle. the wall jump feels weird but loved the concept of dynamic world changing by the colors hit.

Josh H says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:05pm

I really like this idea! The color switching was pretty awesome, nice job. I fell off the level though and just kept falling indefinitely. Minor issue though. Overall, I think you did an excellent job.

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Nice - Really liked the atmosphere and the pace of the game. Recon this style game would look ace on a mobile

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Really nice control! But when i fall the game ends? Great job!

Zolmeister says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:20am

Ha, great game! Agree about the automatic running, but still great concept

Manou says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Good idea, somewhat hard to control.

Mekuri says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Fun game, controls were a little hard, would've loved like a few more milliseconds or such to time the wall jumps. I Liked the idea about combining colors.

hexagore says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Very cool. Sort of fell out of the world though, hit a blue thing, it all went dark and then I just fell..

pythong says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:07am

nice music!

Artamus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Nice game, congrats!

akios says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:03pm

awesome concept, just love it, just add a restart game when it falls in the sixth scenarios really annoing reload the page to continue playng.

jpverkamp says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Loved the audio. The graphics were a bit problematic, especially that you couldn't actually see the walls edge on. Fun though.

INC$D021 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Very Nice :) I really like it. Easy to understand, and play :)

vividhelix says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Great concept, but the controls are a bit finicky - wall jumps should be a bit more forgiving...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]