Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

ParaPlats (Demo)

by HayManMarc - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Win Condition Fix:
http://haymanquarterly.com/downloads/ParaPlats_Demo_fixed.zip


The core concept of ParaPlats is: a platformer with parallax platforms.

A terrible calamity has ripped a rift in the space/time continuum and connected three parallel worlds. It has split these worlds into three separate colors -- Red, Green, and Blue. You must find certain items in each world and deposit them into a collector for each world in order to mend the rift and save the universe!

A and D, or LEFT/RIGHT arrows move you left and right.
SPACE BAR jumps.
W and S, or UP/DOWN arrows move you from platform world depth to platform world depth.
In game tutorial signs ("wut" signs) will guide you through.



I used GameMaker: Studio. I didn't have time for sounds. Too bad.

Other tools: GIMP, calculator.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#316Humor2.76
#498Theme3.34
#534Mood3.00
#729Innovation2.93
#777Graphics2.76
#788Overall2.97
#860Fun2.69
#921Audio1.81
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

HayManMarc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:18am

Welp -- I wasn't able to test the game all the way thru before submitting and there's a dumb error at the end that keeps you from getting to the win screen. Here's the fixed version. https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/46956737/ParaPlats/ParaPlats_Demo_fixed.zip Still no sound. I think I'll add a music track and submit it to the LD Jam. ---HayManMarc

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:42pm

For some reason I can't run it, sorry

HayManMarc says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:09am

Chrome doesn't like Gamemaker games in dropbox. After downloading the game using Chrome, you need to renime the file inside the folder you downloaded it to. The file will look something like "Unconfirmed 949770.crdownload". Just rename it to "Paraplats_demo.zip" then you'll be able to extract and run like normal. I just tested the link and it works fine for me.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Awesome work for your first Ludum Dare game. I liked the graphics. The colors are really bright. My only complaint was that changing the platform world depth with up and down didn't feel natural. I thought I would jump with the up arrow. Other than that, great work!

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Awesome innovation! Different kind of platformer but I like it!

Maxium says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:40am

I like the theme and the switching lanes mechanic, but having to start over without checkpoints made it frustrating.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:25am

I died so many times!
Really well made, It might of been best to have individual keys for each of the worlds, rather than fumbling through the arrow keys.
The depth was done really well, and I liked that each world had different jump heights.
Needed audio though!

Strong entry overall, congrats on your first Ludum Dare

Sunflower says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:09am

HaaayMaaan, how come you didn't tell me about your entry?!

The plot was rather... unexpected. And amusing. Graphics were quite decent, though somewhat bright, and the green background was standing out a bit too much against the actual elements. ^^"
Still, it was a good experience, though I didn't like how one mistake made me go back to the tutorial zone again...
Also, interesting how the worlds seemed to be simply at different depth.

Lvyn says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:56am

Haha, my game is based on the same idea :D
A meeting of great minds ;)

elefantopia says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:31am

Good tutorial, and interesting way of switching between worlds.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:10am

Very interesting idea. I found myself having a hard time figuring out which world to go to, having two worlds would have been easier for me - I had to keep checking the top left indicator but then forgot and ended up falling. Great execution though!

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:54pm

The intro cracked me up. I hit the arrow key too soon a couple times and fell through the platforms before I even knew what I was doing. It would be good to reset the currently selected color after respawning so the player starts in a consistent state. The color changing is a good mechanic but it was a bit tough... god how I wish I could jump :) Nice work!

Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Great concept, it's definitely a lot of fun to play around with.

Having to start the level all over when you fail is a bit harsh though, and quite discouraging.

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:49pm

GOTTA GIVE IT UP FOR GAMEMAKER nice job I also used gamemaker. Good to c others representing. check out holiday nightmare thats mine I made it in gamemaker.

Scipio Xaos says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:35pm

That was quite fun! Difficult.. but fun! I have to ask, though, did you intend for the worlds to get out of sync depending on how you moved around? It caught me off guard and made me lose a few times. :P

HayManMarc says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:02am

Thank you all for the rates and replies!! Scipio Xaos -- I did not intend on that, but realized it would happen during building and playtesting the level. I chalked it up as a maze-like feature, even tho it was emergent. :)

Also, apologies to all for the harsh "starting-the-level-over-at-death" thing. I did not have time to do anything else, nor have I coded a checkpoint system before.

OinkIguana says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Hey HayManMarc - thegame from GMC here
Nice work on the game. Controls were a little difficult at times, but the idea is great. The only problem is how long it takes to respawn - you fall for hours and I keep pressing R by habit and restarting the whole game...
I really enjoyed the parallax though, very cool. Colour contrast was low so it was hard to see at times but the graphics looked fine otherwise.

HayManMarc says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:58pm

make sure you download the fixed version: http://haymanquarterly.com/downloads/ParaPlats_Demo_fixed.zip

Benjamin says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 3:16pm

interesting game. The different zooms on each worlds make the gameplay very special. I died many times trying to play, I'm not sure that bottomless pit on first level is a good idea. You should make a safer first level. Great entry anyway !

Rehacked says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:11am

Good game liked how the character resizes in each world.

Sep 15, 2014 @ 4:53pm

I didnt hear the audio, but the game was good in general.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]