Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Galactic Empire

by Stan Sypek - 48 Hour Compo Entry

If you've done the GameMaker tutorial Scrolling Shooter, then you've played this. First time submitter, so I know Pong is probably better, but I've been doing this for less than a year, so having a game here is phenomenal to me. If you're looking for something fun, best move along.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#535Humor2.37
#776Mood2.74
#791Audio2.22
#870Fun2.68
#1053Overall2.61
#1088Graphics2.18
#1125Theme2.11
#1176Innovation1.89

Comments

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Looks interesting, but of course I can not run a source. You need to supply a compiled runnable app, or even better make it playable in the browser, so everyone can try.

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Looks like a good game but it's only source so can't play it...

x1212 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Ok ... had 'GameMaker: Studio' in my Steam-Library and was able to run this game.

I think you should have added at least something to what the tutorial teaches (maybe something like this entry: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=36899 there you can switch between two states, which determines which enemies you can hit).

But at least it works and didn't have any obvious bugs which is pretty good if you are just a beginner :)

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:40am

Why not posting something playable?:\

DvanderAart says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:51pm

I read your post and thought you were too negative up front. I wanted to be positive but i cannot play source so sorry. I am sure it is not as bad as you say but i cannot rate it.

mechabit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Good job posting something but really should be an executable

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:01am

I appreciate the fact that you tried. You at least submitted something. After all, the spirit of this whole compo is to have fun, interact, and learn. Point being, don't give up you're ahead already. I'm sure you learned a lot and if you keep it up I'm positive next time you'll finish with something you'll be proud of.

Stan Sypek says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:04am

Thanks everyone for your comments. I was just able to get back on, so I will post an executable.

@x1212 I know what you're saying, but it was a race for me to get this on.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:46am

Good job on finishing this. It's actually not that bad, you need to keep at it! This was my first ludum dare submission as well so I echo your feeling of having completed something!

samooJAM says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:56am

Don't be so harsh on yourself. There is many worse games I had to play here. Good effort and keep learning!

hungyg says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Congrats on your first entry!

SK16Games says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Gongratz on first game and first LD entry! I use Game Maker too, good engine, so keep learning! And this is actually a pretty fun little game :)

draxov says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:40pm

A decent shooter, I played it for a few minutes, get's a bit boring at the end with the same enemies, but still a good first game, well done on making it into LD30! :)

DaGamesta says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:53am

If this was truly you going into the Ludum Dare having never made a game before, then this is good progress. However, next time I'd suggest practicing using Game Maker at least a few weeks before the Ludum Dare.

KingBolonzo says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Nice work gotta love gamemaker

Stan Sypek says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:50am

@DaGamesta Didn't play with GameMaker much because I deluded myself into thinking I was going to use Unity. realized that wasn't going to happen. Maybe next time.

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 2:31am

This is great for your first game, never mind your first Ludum Dare. It's not buggy and runs smoothly. I liked the explosion animations. Good job! Hope to see you next LD.

bluesky says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:35pm

I'm very impressed with the gameplay, well done.

jomomomo says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Can't play windows games, any chance we could get a web version?

Tosic says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:20am

Very good, but lacks one thing: score, this would be awesome game if I could see my hi score and post it in the comments!

Tosic says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:20am

Very good, but lacks one thing: score, this would be awesome game if I could see my hi score

Stan Sypek says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Apologies to anyone who wanted a web version. First time doing this, and not enough time to figure that step out. Thanks to everyone that tried it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]