Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Betwixter

by buckslice - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls: WASD or arrow keys

Every time you move you swap between the two game worlds. Use this to your advantage as you traverse through 10 increasingly difficult levels.

8/30 - Added web version let me know if it works!

My first Ludum Dare submission! I'm really happy with the idea I came up with, but I wish I had more time to make more/better levels. I think I did alright though. I used libgdx, paint.net and audacity for development.

Hope you enjoy playing!
-Buck

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#91Innovation3.92
#100Theme3.90
#107Fun3.69
#138Humor3.23
#167Overall3.65
#658Audio2.53
#806Mood2.71
#950Graphics2.46

Comments

silentlamb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:44am

Nice concept! And the victory sound made my day, I love it!

boddiul says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:47am

The most innovation gameplay, I have yet seen at LD30.
Very nice use of a theme

Majko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:47am

Finally some logic piece!

Ryan Melmoth says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:58am

Had a lot of fun! I enjoyed that the game became challenging so quickly. Couldn't get past the first half of "you asked for this" after trying for a while.

skullum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:58am

Cool game, good use of the theme

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:19am

I spent more than a few minutes plotting out the last level. Actual thought required.

ladymary says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:43am

Wow what an awesome game! I love the sound effects and the whole concept. I actually busted out a pen and paper to think about where the saws were headed next. Great job executing a novel concept

Nanolotl says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:51am

Nice concept and well executed

DrHahn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:36am

Reminded me of Chips Challenge, my first ever gaming love. This is really solid and cool ideas, and you could really take it further. Good job :D

BillToWin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:41am

Fun game, great concept, intriguing level design. A+

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Wow. Beautiful concept and fun(ny) level design. Could be improved presentation-wise, but other than that great effort!
Got to the parkour level but couldn't quite figure out how to pass the two pairs of saws on the right side.

rob says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Loved it! But I couldn't get past "The Good Level" — solving those two saw puzzles at once while remembering what's going on in the other world is just beyond my abilities I think. Really neat game though.

I wonder what it would be like if you could somehow see what was going on in the other world before moving — it'd make it easier, but I don't think the game would necessarily lose any appeal for it.

Makio says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Love the character, nice entry !

HeuGamer says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Great concept. Love the gameplay.

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:43am

Sorry, no Java.

tommyboys0107 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:21am

Nice concept!
So correlate with theme!

MentaL13 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:01am

Pretty good game, loved the "Go for it lol" level

bob_fish says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Great idea, nice difficulty and awesome winning sound!

Resonious says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:59pm

That was pretty fun puzzle!

Polona says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Nice puzzling, the levels are really good and it's absolutly funny.
"It so flashy I'm gonna die!" The flashing while switching the game worlds is kind of irritating.
Despite that awesome game! (by Alvar)

Charlie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Nice game and very good level design. Sometimes it's confusing to figure out where to go, but it's very fun!

buckslice says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Thanks for the great feedback everyone! @Polona, ya I probably should have made the world colors more similar, or each time you move a bit of blending between the two worlds.

okeedokeben says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:19am

I love the level titles, and the mechanic is brilliant! Great work!

gamedevBear says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:29am

My favorite game so far. Innovative, fun concept, lots of thought required.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:03am

Fun game! "Go for it lol" was the dirtiest of tricks.

ninjascript says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:10am

Wow, great concept! Those saws are murder!

pikkpoiss says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Great mechanic and use of the theme. I liked the steady introduction of new environmental elements throughout the levels, and there was some really clever level design. If you added some music I think that it would be perfect. Well done!

lkr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Fun concept - enjoyed the game a lot :)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Cool concept, levels designed well. Made me think a lot.

Amvere says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Great game! I really enjoyed it. Brilliant idea that fits the theme perfectly. My head does hurt a little from all the strobing back and forth though.

moomoo112 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:14am

Really liked the saw puzzles, they gave an interesting challenge.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:19am

Good immersion.
Nice game!

LaFleur says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Very clever! Great job!

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:54am

Nicely done. The mechanic is interesting. One of the few desktop games I played. Great job!

Waterman7 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:58pm

This is great! Definitely one of my favorites so far. Good job!

leafarz says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:12am

liked the puzzles very awesome!
great game! maybe one of the longest (yet) playthroughs i did this ld.
good job! :D

uvwar says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Interesting mechanic! The constant switching/flickering was getting to me a little, though!

dcampos says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Web version working, libgdx rocks! Very innovative gameplay.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]