Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connected Worlds

by SnapDragon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The game is on Stencyl

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#741Audio2.33
#889Humor1.75
#1111Mood1.77
#1128Theme2.10
#1172Fun1.97
#1183Innovation1.87
#1196Graphics1.66
#1208Overall2.07

Comments

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:25pm

How should I open that doors? I was completely lost :(

P.S. Seems like it's your first Ludum Dare. Congratulations!

SnapDragon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:20am

You open doors by pressing the down arrow key.

P.S. Did you view the controls, there should be a controls button.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:52am

I had fun

Teesquared says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:02am

Interesting story. I didn't get much use out of my Martian. I may not have made it far enough. Music could use a little work too :) Also, the fonts were hard to read on my box.

SnapDragon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:04am

To:TheGamingProject
Thanks
P.S. Did you read the controls?

SnapDragon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:05am

Teesquared, the use of the Martian actually has NO effect in the game. He is just a messenger to report if you died.

SnapDragon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:10am

And Teesquared, the reason the music wasn't that great was because I kind of had to rush it because I was running out of time.

Axebane says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Not bad for your first Ludum Dare!

SnapDragon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Axebane, Thanks!

GuillaumeGwi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Cool ! I completed it ! It was hard with the blue flames ;)

SnapDragon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Thanks GuillaumeGwi

CoderDozer says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:02pm

fun, well done.

SnapDragon says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Thanks CoderDozer!

Natrium729 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:24pm

The game is ok, not bad but a bit generic. I think the main issue is the graphics (MS Paint?). Also, I'm not sure why the Martian is levitating on top of the screen, doing nothing, since you can restart with R. But everyone has to begin somewhere, so congrats for the effort!

ceosol says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:02pm

So it looks like you can win the game in 5 levels regardless of which door your take. And the coins and the martian have no purpose, correct? For future games, especially Ludum Dare ones, make sure that you focus on getting a well rounded game over the number of levels. I have seen games on LD that have 2 minutes of gameplay and rank really high.

I think you have a nice concept here. Definitely plan out the purpose of the coins and the martian. It would be neat if you had levers or sensors or lasers up high that the martian could interact with while the man was on the ground. For the coins, you might need to get 20 coins (or whatever) before a door will lead you to a stage with a rock. You have a nice premise to the game with your introduction, but the story has no involvement in the actual gameplay. Work on these things (and the graphics, of course) and you will have a killer game on your hands. Good start and nice job finishing up a game on time.

wolfmother says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 9:09am

Congrats for finishing your first LD! You've already beat 90% of people just by making something :)
MS Paint graphics. Kudos on recording some music but it's fairly annoying. Gameplay doesn't make any sense to me.

t4u says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 5:52pm

It works and that's the best thing I can say about this entry. Better luck next time.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]