Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dependant

by Abominas - Jam Entry

This is my first Ludum Dare Entry. My schedule conflicted with the 48-hour compo, so I entered this game into the Jam.

The story: The Light Elves lived peacefully with their dark neighbors, until the Machine was built. Suddenly, huge boulders of tainted earth were hurled at the City of Light, while The Machine's dark reverberations spread the corruption, shrinking the Light Elves' borders. You are the elite Mage of Light! You can destroy the machine!

Cross a battlefield between good and evil!
Witness the eternal fight between the forces light and darkness! Try to understand the language of the Dark Elves! All this and more!

Note: This is NOT a casual game. Expect to die as you develop the reflexes required for mage combat. Ignore any profanities spouted by the Dark Elves. They have a language with an infinite number of phrases that all translate roughly to "I really want to kill you."

Post-Compo version coming soon!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#502Humor(Jam)2.10
#566Graphics(Jam)2.92
#597Overall(Jam)2.89
#602Mood(Jam)2.65
#603Fun(Jam)2.62
#640Innovation(Jam)2.49
#654Audio(Jam)1.50
#671Theme(Jam)2.24

Comments

JNyknn says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Decent game.

Abominas says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:17am

Thanks :) It is more playable now.

tcarter says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:00am

Not quite sure what to do in this game, and it doesn't seem to match the screenshots...

Abominas says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:04am

Hmm the link might not have updated. I'll try to fix this :/

Abominas says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:13am

The game is be fixed now. Follow the in-game tutorial.

Crefossus says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:45am

The game link is to a maze game with elves that pop out of boxes and block you when you backtrack.

Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:52am

So... your entry is called Dependant, as is the .jar, but the game name at the top of the screen is "Labyrinth" and it still has nothing to do with your screenshots.

jprogman says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:17am

The game you've linked does not look like the one shown in your screenshots. I'm just getting a labyrinth full of zombies.

Abominas says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:25am

huh..... That's another project of mine... I will try to fix this.

Abominas says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:31am

I used another link... I can't test this one from my location, but it will definitely be fixed soon. Sorry about that.

Abominas says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:36am

I took the link down until I can fix it later.

AtomicVikings says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:15am

Link to the game is not working...will wait for the fix :-)

ericdpitts says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:00pm

You're hosting this on dropbox, so you should just be able to right click the file in your public folder that you're trying to link to and click "Copy public link", and paste the result on your game's page.

Rehacked says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:21pm

web link doesnt work

banana4life says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:10pm

still not working :(

Silii says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:12pm

+1

TheExGenesis says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Couldn't play it, resource not found :/

Abominas says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:32pm

The thing is I'm not home, so I cannot fix the link for a few a hours. Thank you for waiting :)

Abominas says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Thank you to everyone who waited... The link should work now :)

Rehacked says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:28pm

ah cant play due to .jar files that i can not open. can you make a web version or .exe file?

kyru says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Good idea for a game. The controls felt very slippery and imprecise at times. Looks very nice.

Abominas says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Thanks, kyru :) I will have a link .exe file soon, for everyone who can't run .jars

jonask says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:07pm

This is too hard for me :)

dook says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:10pm

This is super hard, but the controls seem really solid. You're probably right that it just takes some practice :)

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Please change your web label to JAR, as currently is mileading for people looking for web-browser based games to rate. Good effort for your first entry!

Abominas says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Done. Thanks for the tip jukimv1986 :)

invader says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:10pm

I like the pixelated effect on healing or throwing that missile thingy :)

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 11:24pm

neat little game! I enjoy the charging moves.

Scipio Xaos says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:19am

Fun game, but man! That's unforgiving! The only thing I really don't like is that, for whatever reason, your character decides that the best thing to do when hit is about face... really makes it easy for the enemies to just bludgeon you to death.

Also, it would have been nice have the dash bound to a key so you only dash when you want to. Still.. I'll play it more later.. when I'm willing to throw myself on swords again. :P

Abominas says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 4:10am

Cool, thanks, guys, for the nice reviews and the feedback :)

Aomeas says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:58am

I was bad with the dash thing, when I had to jump higher and go to the left or the right but without a dash, I didn't want to dash but my character did and I fell off again and again :(
The game is challenging and the particles are great ! :3

whalebot says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Jumping got a little frustrating for me. I liked the style though, and I'm always a fan of in-game instructions.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:34am

It's a bit frustrating. I keep falling in pits, jumping over things completely, missing instructions, or walking off ledges. I like the particle effects and the in-game instructions, though.

kidando says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:17am

It was a bit hard for me. but I like the visual style. Congrats on finishing your entry

Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:17am

Really hard game. I could not really defeat the dark elves, I just started fleeing and kept going as far as I could xD

Abominas says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:48am

Thanks for the nice reviews guys :)

jprogman says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 11:12am

It's a nice game, but I could only play it when I'm in a good mood. The enemies are so frustrating to kill, they even teleport right on you. WHY?!? The combat is just so awkward and I often end up facing the wrong direction. I wish the combat is more simpler.

I find the game to move too fast on my computer, which makes it difficult to handle the control.

If you could address those concerns, you might score yourself some more players.

dancingmad says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Nice game, very fun to play! The combat system is very hard though, the best is to runaway without fighting the elves...

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Nice style. The controls feel clunky, since it's hard to just high jump without dashing, and the text placement makes it hard to read due to moving too fast or having to flee enemies.

frogcheese says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Okay, this game has some potential but it's really frustrating to play. The character starts moving so fast the moment I press any of the movement keys that it's really easy to overshoot and fall off edges at any time, and the combat has a lot of problems.

One: the character doesn't turn around until you've taken a few steps in any given direction, meaning that when the enemy inevitably teleports behind you, you can't instantly change direction and fight.

Two: when being hit, you change your direction. Combined with the first point, this means that every time you get hit you have to move a decent length before being able to fire back - during which time you could get hit again and waste even more time and life.

Three: Combined with one and two, the enemies have a decent amount of health that gets to be a pain to deal with since you have so few opportunities to harm them.

Four: Combined with all of the above points, the enemies teleport, meaning that once you finally get into position, they might already be behind you.

Other than that, the graphics are clean and polished, but I'm afraid I couldn't play your game for very long because of the combat. If that was fixed, your game could turn out to be really great.

Abominas says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 4:32am

"Note: This is NOT a casual game." Thank you for reading the description before ordering me to make a casual game. Other than that thanks for the feedback that isn't based on the difficulty :) If I make a post-compo version, I'll edit the text placement and checkpoints.

Abominas says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 5:07am

I do agree that the enemies have way too high strength. Since, as you can imagine, I played the game a lot while making it, I wasn't hit enough to realize the fact. I also agree with the about-face argument. In the post-compo version, I will edit these features. However the other current mechanics are there to make the game challenging. They make mage combat as realistic as it can be. Realistically, a guy would jump over (dodge) a fireball if it came at him. The teleport is there to keep players on their toes. It makes it possible for the player to get hit in the back. Otherwise, all the damage could be absorbed. I realize that most people do not care to spend the time required to practice fighting enemies, so I will apply this knowledge to the next entry I make. Thank you all for the reviews :D

Abominas says ...
Sep 17, 2014 @ 1:45am

Fun fact: Only one unique tile texture was used throughout the making of the whole game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]