Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

World of Beatrice, the girl next door

by Lyszie - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a storytelling game about Beatrice, the girl next door.

By living the life of Beatrice, the player is (hopefully) able to connect their own reality to the old-fashioned reality women face in the modern world. This game is for ladies and gents alike, in the hope that ladies will know they are not alone and the gents will experience this reality they might not know. In the hopes of a better world for everyone :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#264Mood3.34
#662Theme3.12
#676Overall3.09
#677Innovation3.00
#679Humor2.15
#825Graphics2.68
#860Fun2.69
#947Audio1.69

Comments

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:31am

The connection was unclear at first, but it's a lovely story :)

Boodog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:32am

Nice job!

fserb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:33am

Amazing idea. And I really enjoyed the image :) super cute. <3

stimpact says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:33am

This is the first game I've ever played that used Twine. I like your taken on the theme of 'Connected Worlds' to connect the player with others in the same world. The theme is especially relevant with all the things blowing up in games development this week. Nice concept, well done :)

ninjascript says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:35am

Poignant.

miwuc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:28am

Cute and depressing, but that's the point. I would have liked it to be longer!

micdoodle8 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:29am

Nice job. Very interesting non-linear story.

jas7229 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:37am

What a story! I really love the progression through life choices and the way I could feel connected to choices I was making in the game.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:48am

Nicely written and thought the way you used the twine engine was great. Enjoyed reading this and seeing what would occur from my decisions.

kadybat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:05am

My favorite part about Twine is the way it can make a person feel someone else's lived experience and this is a shining example of that potential. Well done!

kadybat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:06am

A defining game for the Twine platform. On an 'objective/measurable' level, Twine games are technically basic, but this game's writing is incredibly poignant and transports the player somewhere else.

royvanrijn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:33am

How very different! Now I regret everything in life...

Snuux says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:41am

Amazing!

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:58am

Short but good.

dunin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:53pm

life is hard...
poor Beatrice

lorniebear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:54pm

The story is so depressing!

Aumni says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Nice story!! I enjoyed it :]

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:34pm

I'm depressed now :(

Good job though :)

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Very moving. Lovely little twine game :)

JaJ says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Well done! :D

McFunkypants says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:17am

Interesting. I liked the font and the choices, and just wish there was more to it. Good work!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Hi there. Loved your story, ended up with baby and no sleep ... Nice presentation. Shame no background music to score... but not sure if Twine can do that ? Good job!

grayhaze says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:30pm

Beautifully written and very revealing on multiple play throughs. Well done! :)

EncryptedCow says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Nice job. It was pretty good te first couple play throughs, but after that I started realizing that sometimes taking either choice in some spots will lead you to the same thing. (Saying Yes or No to Coolio still results in you guys together.) I think if you were to open it up more with some different endings it would work a lot better.

Snoother says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Engagingly written and has an important message that's clearly presented. I like that you've highlighted both sides of the prejudice: the stupid expectations for woman to aspire to marriage and disproportionately fulfil childbearing roles, but also the condescension sometimes directed towards women who do, for many reasons, end up in 'traditional' roles.

On the negative side, and this has been said so I won't swell on it, the choices could maybe be a bit more profound. A lot of the time the choices redirect to one set path -- or is that part of the message too? The inevitability of it all, how it can't be escaped?

jacklehamster says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:13pm

So every path has a sad ending?

Dohan says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Interesting entry. I've played it several times to see other paths and I found how a couple of choices leads to the same results a bit disappointing (specially the one saying 'no' to Coolio), but the story kept me hooked.

GrooveMan says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 12:07am

I love that underneath the soft aesthetics, the commentary is incredibly sharp-toothed. I particularly like how you used the nature of Twine branching stories and that the player was likely to play through again to work in the theme.

Larzan says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Short but good. I like the intimate touch it has. Although it is about a female protagonist i think that everybody can see a bit of his / her own life in there, wanting to live your life a certain way but colliding with society / partners / fate which seem to push in the other direction.
Thumbs up!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]