Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Search For Life

by jmjd - 48 Hour Compo Entry

What to do:
You start out on your home planet. Click any planet in the sky, and you will travel there and see if there is any intelligent life there (other players of the game). That's it! Can you find life in this galaxy?

Description:
This game is about the odds of intelligent life from different worlds connecting with each other.

What if all intelligent life in just our Milky Way Galaxy were given the means to travel faster than the speed of light to other planets in the galaxy? Would they be able to find each other with an estimated 300 million stars and 8.8 billion earth-like planets?

This game simulates over 8.5 billion habitable planets that are estimated to be in the Milky Way Galaxy. You represent one of the worlds with intelligent life, with other players representing others. Can you find and connect to another world with life?

This game is more of a social experiment. First I have to get people to actually play, then we'll see if people can actually fin each other in a galaxy of 8.5 billion plus planets.

I wasn't able to get as many features as I wanted in this game. I wanted to add many more features but was only able to complete the very basic idea of finding the home planet of another user.

Anyways, thanks for reading/playing/voting!

-Jared
Twitter: @MonkeyGuyGames

-----------------------------------------------------------

Some stats so far on this game (I'll try to update this periodically during the judging period):

As of September 8 2:56 AM (MDT, UTC -6) there are 35 players searching for life in the galaxy. So far, no one has been able to find each other.




Downloads and Links


Ratings

#156Innovation3.74
#295Theme3.60
#788Mood2.73
#844Graphics2.65
#1029Overall2.67
#1133Fun2.10
#1694Coolness35%

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:56am

Good Lord the planet-simulation is mind-boggling. This is impressive. Love how you can click every star in the sky :D

ahmedmohi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:39am

Well I didn't get what to do so i didn't play much :D , but I liked the idea of click each star and the work done on it maybe if there more elements it will be more fun .
Good Work :)

orukinawa says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:41am

Damn that's a huge universe!

MyougaHiroshi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:44am

Nice simulation game, however i don't know if it's possible to find any life, but stilll cool.

jmjd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:48am

@ahmedmohi
I've updated the notes to better explain what to do (not much really). But you are right, I was only able to complete the bare bones of my idea, so many features that I wasn't able to get to. Thanks for playing!

r0x0r says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:21am

a linux build, please?

Teesquared says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:26am

I spy life forms. I know there's life out there somewhere. Seems like the odds are against discovery. Really interesting though.

jmjd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:35am

@r0x0r
Thanks for reminding me, there should now be a link to a linux build, but it has not been tested as I don't have a linux box.

jmjd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:38am

@Teesquared
I agree the odds are not in our favor. Even if there were thousands of people searching, would anyone find anyone else? Makes me think in the real universe, even if there were tons of intelligent civilizations out there... what are the odds we'd actually find them?

r0x0r says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:57am

@jmjd: thanks! the link is wrong, is the ftp link, but i just guessed the correct one.

really cool experiment! though i can't find anyone, do you know how many people is playing simultaneously?

jmjd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:07am

@r0x0r: thanks for pointing that out... copy and paste fail!

jmjd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:10am

Oh, and at the bottom of my notes I've been updating how many people have played. That was one of the features I wanted to include in the game, but of course, no time to put it in.

Anyone who plays the game, get's assigned a home planet. If you visit somebody's home planet then the game will let you know.

So far, 18 people played, no contact with one another.

Arowx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:25am

Now if you add the ability to make a fleet of faster than light (or even slower than light) recon ships that you can launch to new worlds that can build new ships on empty worlds and expand from there then you could have a great little Fermi Paradox simulator.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Hi there. A great idea to tackle with a game. Goes some way to helping spread the understanding of just why we don't find a universe teeming with intelligent life, even though it is almost certainly to be found (at some distance...) in every direction. Good job!

ajopart says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:22am

Innovative and mind blowing. Now we want gameplay :-). Conquer stars, build civilization across the galaxy and finally meet other players...

tatelax says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Funish, but I was never able to find another planet with life :(

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Should have the light-speed effect (like in star wars) when you click on a far-away planet or star. That would be neat.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]