Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

DEMON BABY HALL DEFENSE

by uberscientist - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Demon babies from another world are encroaching on our own through a hallway: DEMON BABY HALL DEFENSE!

Made with Blender 2.71 on Arch Linux
LMMS for the music
Audacity for sound editing and samples
Gimp for 2D graphics editing

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#300Humor2.79
#522Audio2.76
#699Fun2.88
#727Graphics2.85
#868Overall2.89
#922Mood2.54
#1013Innovation2.46
#1156Theme1.92

Comments

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:46pm

On windows I receive 'this archive is invalid' when attempting to open the zip.

r0x0r says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Another bge game! =) you can put the .blend file inside the player, and distribute it together, this script http://ix.io/e1U/py can be used to build for all platforms.

About the game, i feel like killing minecraft babies =P

uberscientist says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:26pm

@OnlySlightly: I just unzipped and rezipped it on my server, I had a friend build it for windows and I think he used some weirdo ding-dong archive program. Maybe it'll work now?

idovingx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:56pm

Surreal...

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:30am

I couldn't run the executable on Linux Mint 16 (based on Ubuntu 13.10).

./DBHD: error while loading shared libraries: libpng16.so.16: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

This system has libpng12, but not libpng16.

The blend file worked fine though. I like the music and the physics.

idovingx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Hey uberscientist, I couldn't figure out how to send you a direct message, but I uploaded a Linux version of my game if you were interested to check it out!

bobrocks says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:48pm

This is... interesting! haha, not a bad FPS, nice work!

ramoncb says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:41am

Surreal indeed ! xD

After the 60 seconds the game became really challenging =O

Good job!

Tosic says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Wait you actually built this in BGE, awesome, I like the graphics and the scary music, keep it up! :D

CoolIron says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 7:49am

Can't see connection to the theme, apart that babies are from another world. It's funny how you can keep them in the air by shooting their corpses :)
Good job, but I think game could use more content(guns, different babies, etc)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]