Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Phase Shifter

by Sasurai - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The initial idea was to do a labyrinth kind of game playing with swapping between "connected worlds". I ended up making a runner, using the same idea, where you have to change which "world" or elemental plane or whatever your ship uses in order to go through the panels without dying.

P.S: I had no idea where to upload the game, first time participating. I hope it's ok to use Kongregate for that ^^".

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#892Fun2.65
#936Innovation2.63
#974Theme2.55
#985Overall2.75
#1055Mood2.20
#1135Graphics2.05
#1542Coolness41%

Comments

maxkm5st1 says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 7:09pm

cool

donut345 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:00pm

cool concept but sometime four panels of not ur color show up :F also if hitting your color was more rewarding it would increase the replay value... particle explosion maybe?

Sasurai says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:59pm

@donut345 first off thanks for the feedback :). Panel color generation is random, and I'm aware it can lead to just dying, I'm not sure if I want to prevent that, so it was kind of a design decission.
About hitting your own color being more rewarding, I thought about it, but due to the way I implemented collision/going through (using layers) I had to do some additional coding to give points for going through, and I didn't have time. I will probably do it after the evaluation though, since I plan to keep working on the game a bit.
About particles and stuff, I want to add that at some point, as well as sounds, but again I didn't have time to tinker with the particle systems Unity has and I'm not familiar with them ^^"

JangoBrick says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Solid idea, although graphics could've been better and sound would have been nice. Overall pretty good.

blindfox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:41pm

I like the concept however I am a bit confused by the scoring system. It would go up extremely fast as long as I was strafing (even with no panels in range yet). Movement is super slippery and it takes time to know what colors map to what keys but other than that it is fine.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:25pm

That was a really fun game! I would've liked to see my score as the game was playing. Maybe I just didn't see it?

Naytron says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Really unforgiving controls but the game play is quite rewarding, solid job!

Sasurai says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Thanks all for the feedback!
Scoring was based on movement to force user to move instead of just standing there switching colors. I thought later to make it score for each panel you went through but that required some changes I didn't have time to make. As for the movement, it is intended that the ship is kind of hard to stabilize and control.

Seraphic Media, you can see the score in the upper right side of the screen :)

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Neat idea, but the player moved too fast I thought. Good work though.

shashwat says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Nice game. However, if I stay at the edge, it just becomes a colour spotter. Much easier, mainly because there's no incentive for me to dodge.

Sasurai says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:30pm

You don't get points unless you're moving, so if you stay at the edge and spot colors you get no points, unless I'm missing something ^^"

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]