Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Pong Between Worlds

by hephaestus_rg - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Pong is played simultaneously in 3 worlds, and a mysterious rift connects these worlds.

Click and drag your paddles and beat the AI!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#224Innovation3.60
#295Theme3.60
#752Graphics2.80
#778Fun2.80
#839Overall2.93
#1836Coolness28%

Comments

AkirAssasin says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 5:11am

Quite fun!

Aug 24, 2014 @ 7:18am

Looks like it would be a fun game but I had a few issues with it:
1) The game currently plays itself. I can't figure out how to take control.
2) The resolution is huge compared to my browser. I have to scroll up and down to see all of the action.

Cool concept though!

hephaestus_rg says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 7:21pm

@DoobieDoctor, it's a problem I also had playing other Unity Web Player games. For some reason the player just looses your input. If i refresh/reload it seems to fix it sometimes.

gillenew says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:58am

very fun but also very hard :)

caranha says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:56am

Very good idea, but the implementation falls short. It is not very clear where the ball is coming, and the collision between the balls and the paddle feels stramge. Also, the game should detect multiple touches on a phone.

Thanls for the game!

Eli says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:05pm

This is hard!
I couldn't play on browser. Actually it's impossible to play with mouse, it's just too fast. On Android it was ok, but still hard...
Nice game:)

JM-DG says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:26am

With the mouse it's almost impossible...
I'm pretty sure it's supposed to be for a touchscreen.
The game kinda plays itself.
Nice concept though. Very interesting.

UmbraTilde says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:49am

The juice is good but the screen shake makes it hard at times to see what is going on, and the opponent can go on a rampage before you get any shots in.

It also basically plays itself, but very amusing to watch.

ajopart says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:29am

Ahahah Nice reboot of Pong ! It plays itself and goes crazy time to time. The AI has no "I" but you definitely should work on it. there is something good here !

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Not a bad idea, but too fast to the point that it's impossible to play.

aneeslol says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Pretty fun twist on pong. I think it would've been a little more intuitive if you controlled all three paddles at once instead of having to individually drag them.

shashwat says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:30pm

The idea is nice. It's hard for me to play the game, however. I just can't keep track of which paddle my mouse is moving, and they sometimes have a mind of their own even then.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]