Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

496e737472756374696f6e

by DDFranky - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my entry for the jam, due to my current health condition (i have influenza. in the middle of summer. Yep.) I have to submit it in an earlier stage that i would like to present it. Not sure that it really fit with theme of the jam but it was the only decent idea that i had. In case you are wondering is a virtual world that is connected with the real world. Hope you enjoy the game!

Command: arrow keys to move and space to jump.

P.s. If your tab crash at the end of the game: no, it's not a bug.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#894Audio1.93
#908Mood2.56
#921Humor1.61
#922Graphics2.50
#1148Fun2.06
#1178Theme1.71
#1180Innovation1.88
#1197Overall2.20

Comments

Sacha862 says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 1:27pm

An interesting idea, I like it! However I feel like the name could have been better...

EthanWebster says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Nice game, I have a few suggestions though
1) Faster movement (it takes a while to get from point a to b)
2) Perhaps add a few hints so we know what to do
3) Maybe add an animation for the character.

Overall, a very nice game :)

DDFranky says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 6:56pm

thanks :D @Sacha862 yeah i came up with the name at the last minute...and it is actually terrible! XD

@EthanWebster Thanks! :D I was working on a couple of animations for the character.

OneMuppet says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 7:45pm

The game has an interesting feel to it, well done making it!
I thing some ambient sound track would lift the game. I got stuck pretty quick and didn't manage to figure out how to continue. By flashing the buttons or secretes currently on screen if the player is stuck too long, I thing you would be able to keep the gamer in the game longer.
Good job and I hope you get rid of the flue soon!

joylessSnake says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 8:28pm

The game has a cool idea but the controls feel really unresponsive

HawkSandwich says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 9:04pm

I like the game, but I don't feel like I'm IN the game...

HawkSandwich says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 9:36pm

By that I mean the controls aren't very 'vivid' for a lack of a better word... Other than that, awesome game

demtool5 says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 9:49pm

THIS IS MAZING! 8.5/10

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 9:57pm

I agree with everyone about the controls; are you using charactercontrollers or rigidbodies? imo, rigidbodies seem to work better in 2d.
otherwise, it looks cool!

DDFranky says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:10am

Thanks everyone! :D @OnePuppet thanks! Yeah I was afraid of that. I will keep it in mind for the next time though!
@Miziziziz I use rigidbody.

I think that the main problem with the "unresponsive feeling" of the controls is due to the lack of speed in the horizontal movement. I need to test it if it's true or not.

xrm0 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:42am

Nice. The only thing I'd change is the moving background. Slow the animation or make it static.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:39pm

I agree with faster movement, would be more fun probably (or maybe i'm just too impatient ;))

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:45am

Faster movements are indeed necessary. I find the background to be gorgeous.

Dans17 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:24am

Cool game, hard at times.

Endurion says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:43am

Nice idea, I think I chose wrong at the end.
Make him move faaster...

jahmaican says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:11pm

I'd also prefer if it was faster-paced, but then I quite like the graphics, it's quite moody in it's weird, unfinished way. And one big thing it's missing - it needs some unstettling music.

mrbungle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Very stylish game, I really the graphics. It feels like the player character is stationary while the world around him moves, not sure whether that's intentional, but it means it lacks a bit of player agency.

Artamus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Nice game, congrats!

esayitch says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:56am

Pretty nice platformer. Just needs faster movement :P Get well soon mate!

Sunflower says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Alright, completed it, got the not-the-bug crash at the end, though it required from me travelling quite a lot at very slow pace, and I didn't like that. ^^"
(plus, I got little idea why I'm collecting these circuity things)

Still, I admit, the square effect in the background was rather fancy. ^^

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 11:24am

buon lavoro! The game level was complex and I liked the artsy background, but then for me the game was a bit slow to play and the controls felt a bit clunky. I can relate to your issue with illness because it happened to me once on a Ludum Dare too and the results were not the best :) Hope you get better soon. Good job!

Sep 15, 2014 @ 1:14pm

I'd love to see what this could be with more time. It seems a pretty big world and has an interesting/mysterious feel.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]