Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Chicken Dimension

by Zabuza - Jam Entry

So this game was kind of rushed at the end. It was written using processing and the platforming engine was written by me during the competition. I drew all the graphics using paint.NET, the soundeffects were made with Bfxr, and finally the music is from www.nosoapradio.us. Please try to ignore some of the bugs. Thanks! :D
Controls:
-Up: Jump
-Left: Move Left
-Right: Move Right
Explore to find all the dark matter to open the portal to the next world.
This is also my first entry so yeah. :)

Edit-
Ported to linux, fixed sticking to walls, and fixed animations sometimes breaking.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2075Coolness14%

Comments

pighead10 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:19am

Simple gameplay but well polished, great music, and oddly fun!

alvarop says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:43am

Very realistic jumping mechanics (we discussed this over my stream and that's what we figured would be the best (and first) thing to say about your game).

The main character is funny and the goal is clear. There isn't much of a "challenge" however. Also, some parts of the level design seem unfair, as I couldn't see if I was jumping into a void or towards a platform.

daymare says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:28am

Good for a first submission. (I'm no expert)

socks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:36am

Nice music choice, I think it brings some atmosphere in and would still fit if the game had a more serious tone. The jump sound effect is a bit harsh.

Some more varied background art would have really spiced things up (just add the palm trees already!), and Different themes on the levels would have felt more "Connected Worlds", even if it's mostly a palette swap. Good art though!

Nitpicking: I would have liked if collecting the dark orbs had a bit more reach.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:38pm

I actually liked it since it's a simple platformer with acceptable graphics. Here is some feedback;
- Jumping sound is quite annoying and the music is not the best.
- You can jump also when you touch the bottom of tiles.
- After landing the walking animation does not kick in.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:25am

Great job on your first Ludum Dare game! A chicken collects dark matter while scientists of today are still trying to understand what it is and what it does. Makes you question your dinner, doesn't it? Anyway, had a lot of fun with this! :D

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:36am

Short and sweet. Platforming was a bit punishing at points, but not really (since free respawns). Music was great!

HayManMarc says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:58am

Great, simple game. Nice, smooth movement. Collision mask probably too big on chicken. Wasn't sure about the music at first, but it grew on me quite a bit while playing. First level was probably a bit too challenging, but great job all in all.

IamAcoconut says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:36am

I liked your game! It was very solid entry! It would be nice if you introduced something new on each level, (like background change, enemies, etc.). But overall it was a good game!

Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:31pm

That was cool. The chicken felt like it had a lot of character. I like the leap of faith parts - adds something different.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]