Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Courier

by Conk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first Ludum Dare, had lots of fun with this, I'm quite bad at finishing things in short time periods, but not today! I did however fall short of my 3 level target and had to settle for 1 level.

Sad times.

Honestly, the theme was really lost on me, I adapted it kind of... so it was unconnected world war 1... connected world is in there... Jus' sayin'

Thanks.

Umm, known issue - minimizing may cause a crash ? Too late to attempt a fix.
That font might be important, not tested on other pcs.
Oh yh, PC only ):

Controls

Left & Right = Move Left & Right
Up = Jump
Hold Down to crawl/sneak
Escape to pause.
Enter to accept and stuff.

Try to avoid the mines.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#32Mood4.00
#48Graphics4.22
#60Audio3.74
#297Overall3.47
#334Fun3.30
#630Humor2.22
#781Theme2.90
#950Innovation2.59

Comments

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Fine art, we want more!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:00pm

I liked the concept of being a game about war, nice.

But it is said that the game is for web, but it has na exe to download.

tiff says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Great art work!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Audio and visuals are amazing, and so is the atmosphere. Great work, especially for your first LD entry.
I love these dark, saturated colors!

Conk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Thanks everyone! When submitting there was a * by web, I instantly assumed I had to put something in that box...

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Really nice. Great job :)

Bozwellox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Graphics and audio are really nice and compliment the mood perfectly. Just wish it wasn't so short :P

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Beautiful aesthetic and great mood you set.

sprawl says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:32pm

The overall atmosphere of the game is so good. The game itself is simple, but it works very well with everything else. My only complaint would be that some mines are hard to see (Maybe that's just because I'm colourblind).

Good job !

Conk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:12am

Thank you all for the great feedback! There are flowers around most of the mines and other traps and a beeping noise should get louder the closer to a mine you are (:

dunin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:55am

very good mood. And I think it works with the theme.

jojocanard says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:29am

Really great mood congratulations.
But sorry I didn't go very far. The mines were too hard to see. I died sometimes for no clear reason (Barbed wire?) and dead again in front of soldiers and I had no idea what to do. After that many restarts it was too frustrating.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:20am

The immersion is real good.
The dark graphics play well with the gameplay.
Impressive!

Rocketship says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:25pm

The best background music so far, nice atmospheric aesthetic. The screen is a bit too dark though, at first the blinking mines were hard to see which was pretty frustrating. Also the barbed wire death I thought was a bug at first because there was no feedback. Generally though, atmospheric experience, good job!

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:31pm

I really enjoyed the mystery of this game and how dark it was. Also the difficulty was higher than most of the games I've played the LD, hardcore gamers will appreciate that. I know I did :)

Conk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Cheers everyone (: I made sounds and was about to add visual feedback for barbed wire, but didn't manage to, you can crawl through the wire without taking damage, I forgot to mention that.

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Like others have said, the art certainly helps to add to the mood.

commodoreKid says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:25pm

The game is pretty short and I think you are well aware of that. However it looks really good, sound and music fits, I think it's a really good entry even though quite unclear and short.

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Very cool the survivalist war-theme is very cool, the music and the mood great ! The character movement is a little bit frustrating.

Rehacked says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:41am

nice game.Good job. liked the art style

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]