Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Princess' Request

by Dasginger - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My entry, written in C# with the XNA framework. The intention was to have the game span across more than two worlds, but I didn't have enough time for that. Because of that, I feel like it could have been more related to the theme than it is.

Description:
A young, mute knight hears a cry for help from a princess in danger while exploring some suspicious ruins. Unable to ignore this, he embarks on a quest between worlds to fix her mysterious "Machine."

Installation:
The game was tested on Windows 7 and 8.1, and works on both. It might work on Vista (untested), but me cutting corners in the code means the game definitely wont run on XP.

There are two download options, an installer or a zip of the game and content. If you prefer the zip, note that it requires the XNA and .NET Frameworks to run. See INSTALL_REQUIREMENTS.txt
These frameworks are NOT required for the installer.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#46Mood3.91
#88Graphics4.03
#120Overall3.74
#176Audio3.41
#337Humor2.71
#486Fun3.12
#520Theme3.31
#867Innovation2.76

Comments

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Good graphics reminded me of Limbo, but the background could have some more work.

JetL33t says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Really limbo like. I really dig the mood and style, but the movement could need some work.

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Really like the graphics

Dasginger says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:29pm

These comments are interesting, because I've never played Limbo! Thanks for the comments, I think I'll definitely be fixing and continuing the game when I have some more energy.

DvanderAart says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Good solid concept and graphics. Sound was very good too.
And it actually has an ending too which is something I didn't get to myself. Like!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Like a fast-paced Limbo, I really loved the sound effects in this game. Not harsh on the ears and the music was really fitting as well. The story was neat, I like the way you presented the princess using the art style and the dialog was very interesting. :D

Peping says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:43pm

A nice, atmospheric game. Spoiler alert! Vore twist ending. Very good.

TheMorfeus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:56pm

WinXP, cant play it :(

Aleph0 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:38pm

It's not because the textures are black that it has something to do with Limbo...
In short, I found the game interesting. In my opinion, you should try to find a way to tell the story in a different way. It interrupts the game too much when you are playing especially at the beginning.
Anyway, you did a nice job here ! :)

pinion says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Liked it. Good sense of anticipation that something was going to happen and just the right length for an LD game.

Dasginger says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:54pm

@WinXP The game was tested on 7 and 8.1, it might work on Vista, but me cutting corners in the code means the game wont run on XP (as far as I know). I probably should have mentioned that, thanks for letting me know!

@Everyone else, thanks so much for playing my game and leaving comment!

Dasginger says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:14pm

And of course, by @WinXP, I meant @TheMorfeus. Sorry about that.

tbamberg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Graphics are great, story left a bit to be desired

SgtGorm says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Really like the music, the controls specifically the jumping is a bit stiff but with no death penalty its easily overlooked :). Great entry.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:23pm

loved it! everything fit together really well. I briefly thought she was going to eat me at the end though lol

evilentity says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:24am

Very nice, but the story interrupts the game too much.

rnlf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Cool graphics and sound, solid gameplay.

DarkCart says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:17pm

I like the silhouette style graphics.

cstudios says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:14am

lot of people comparing the graphics to limbo, but to me it feels more like Badlands. Maybe more world and more dynamic obstacles would be fine. The music is also good, simple but does not fall short. Some character animation (just rotating the character to the moving direction) would be lovely.

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:40am

Cool game, lovely graphics and solid audio. When you are jumping and the story stopped you the horizontal velocity stopped and I didn't like jumping into the top of everything in the second world. Otherwise nice concept, hope you continue!

Drew Van Camp says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:16pm

The look of the game is cool! That's why I wanted to try it out to begin with. Controls could use some reigning in as the jump is overly quick and wild. It's ok to slow it down. Music is kind of nice.

I have to say that it was a bit enraging when the dialog kept suddenly interrupting the gameplay. In combination with lots of dialog, I lost interest very quickly. But for curiosity I kept going and teleported to the second place. But I again lost interest when I couldn't figure out what to interact with. I was just locked out of all the things I wanted to do.

But I do think you have a nice theme and style and really like the idea of more than two worlds. So I think this is definitely worth tuning up and expanding. I'd love to play it if you worked on it more. Feel free to look me up!

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Neat art, nice gameplay. Overall a good entry!

chowee says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Great entry !

I love monochromatic art style ! You really get how to do it properly! Even though we cannot really see the elements of the level, we can guess and imagine well enough based on shapes. I didn't enjoy to much the background though. They add to the mood of the game but I think that could be something to improve in a future version (if there ever is one ;) ). Music does a great job !

Gameplay wise its standard but well put together and integrated in the theme. The controls are a bit weird especially when jumping because I think you do not use velocity.

I greatly enjoyed the length of the game and the weird ending ;)

PS: You left some debug/developement commands in the final build. I pressed accidently the l key and got some testing messages for the dialogs.

bluesky says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:48pm

I'm very impressed with the gameplay, well done.

Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:32pm

I tried to play but my computer was lagging like crazy once I stepped in the yellow world, so I can't really see what's after X). Seems nice otherwise.

Conk says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:32am

Really love the silhouette style, I use it all the time (: The mood and humor were a nice subtle addition and the length was really nice, fantastic job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]