Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Foo

by LPeter1997 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The whole game was made in java SE with no external libs.
The source is an Eclipse project.
Newest java (at least ud 67) is needed to run the applet version. Also add http://www.users.atw.hu to the exceptions (java security).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#101Fun3.70
#112Mood3.63
#116Overall3.75
#206Theme3.73
#269Audio3.22
#345Graphics3.45
#879Innovation2.74
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

gandalf1209 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:20am

Very addicting! We both had pretty much the same idea, just you've had more experience in this field, and I have to say, yours is much better than mine! Still take a look though!

LPeter1997 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:20am

There were problems with the Applet (the html file got messed up, not my fault). Fixed!

MintArcade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:40pm

Super cool looking 2D game. Very addicting.. and fun.

kyyrma says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Very polished for a 48H entry, impressive work. You have a good grasp on how to teach the player gameplay mechanics. Felt very well executed and the difficulty grew at perfect pace. The autotracker music is a bit of a downside, as better random music generators exist and the melody is annoyingly recognizeable. Much better than no music at all however!

BillToWin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Great level design. Tight platforming controls. Nice pixel art. The music and the sound effects were awesome.

Kalman90Grape says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Very well done, especially designing that many levels in a short amount of time.

Zoomyzoom says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:03pm

I really loved this game! Most people fall into the trap of making an engine and not a game, but you got it perfect :D

Terrabalt says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:44am

Good job for the game!

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:05am

Sorry, no Java.

polarkac says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:05am

Cool, like the idea. I would prefere jumping on spacebar instead of W, but well I guess its more challenging this way.

OFF says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:20am

Obvious but SO GOOD! I'm impress by the fact that you use no libraries or middleware et get such a level of quality.

The level is smart, and the idea of outline for the other world is really good (it lacks in many game like yours).

One critic the character lack of inertia and it makes the make a little bit nervous, and badly hard, but really that's a detail.

The character is maybe too detailled compared to the world, but separately the two are great but not enough connected.

The background are wonderful.

Addicting, fun = time killer game!

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Really cool. Movement was easy to get the hang of and the graphics looked really nice. Great polish here too.

cstudios says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:04am

A very high quality game, well designed levels, easy to learn and nice aesthetics. But the controls felt like they are lagging or unresponsive. Also maybe by holding the jump key, it should jump only once (not keep jumping). But this is my only concern. Great job!

Nanolotl says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:15am

Nice and simple idea, very well made and polished.

whalebot says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Nice work with this!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]