Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Good vs Evil

by maike - Jam Entry

Like hard games? Dodge the enemies for as long as possible!


-----
I strongly recommend that you play the Android/iOS* version of the game as it provides a better 'feel'.
Please let me know what you think :)!

*Submitted to the App Store but the approval process is very long.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#324Humor(Jam)2.53
#458Graphics(Jam)3.19
#511Fun(Jam)2.81
#524Theme(Jam)2.81
#575Mood(Jam)2.73
#576Overall(Jam)2.93
#607Audio(Jam)2.05
#653Innovation(Jam)2.44
#1598Coolness39%

Comments

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:14am

Excellent graphics. "HEEEEE-MAN!"

Collision detection seems... a bit harsh? Perhaps that's just the web version. Or maybe I'm just a rubbish player. ;)

maike says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:23am

Thanks mate :)!
Collision detection is based on the squares and not just the faces, maybe that's why you're a 'rubbish player' :p

Larzan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:30pm

Nice mechanics, flappy LD, hehe

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:34pm

I got 85!

I found that the optimal strategy was just to hold space to keep the boxed out at the edges and just move whenever I needed to because there enemies coming at the edges. You could make it so that you can't hold the space key as long as possible.

It's a shame that characters are so small in-game as they seem to be really detailed and well made! I can't really make them out on the screen... Maybe the heads of the enemies that killed you could show up and talk to you? or taunt you whenever they show up on screen?

monsterkillu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:02pm

I must say art is really good .. I wished to see more on that on the gameplay side of it too next time :)

evilentity says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Very cool! Nice simple game

maike says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Thanks to everyone for playing and leaving a comment, I'll make sure to try, rate and give feedback to your games as well :)!


@Larzan Thanks :)! In fact, I did develop a game with similar mechanics to Flappy Bird before, I ended up calling it Tappy Colour, hope you'll check it out :)!
Android: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=maike.me.tappycolour
iOS: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/tappy-colour/id892184447


@Jesper Oskarsson I also realized pretty much everyone, including myself, would just lean up against the walls whenever possible, which is why enemies spawn at each side on every third wave :p
As for the size of the enemies, it was a tricky choice, for the sake of gameplay I choose to keep them small so that it would be possible to spawn two next to each other and still have enough room to get past them (and I'd rather have portrait orientation rather than landscape for the sake of making it fast paced), but if you use an Android device with really high resolution (e.g. Nexus 10) then you'll get a crystal clear view of them :)!


@monsterkillu I spent the first day developing an entirely different game (I hope I'll have enough free-time to release it on Sunday), which I later abandoned because it didn't fit the 'Connected Worlds' theme at all. This ended up costing me quite a lot of time, although I'm not sure if I would have added anything else in terms of gameplay. I considered adding ability to choose player icon, power-ups (e.g. fire projectile & slow-motion) but in the end I decided to spend almost all my time making sure that performance was great, there were no bugs (at least I think I got rid of them) and that you would never encounter a situation where it would be impossible to get past the enemies. In other words, I'd rather have my game feel complete instead of having tons of unfinished features/bugs. E.g. I think the player sliding out of screen when the game is over and sliding back in when a new game can begin gives the game the kind of feel that it's a finished product.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Pretty tricky at points, but overall a fun game.

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:23am

Fun entry! The gameplay felt pretty smooth. It was easy to pick up, yet challenging enough to keep me playing for awhile. I would have really liked to have seen different waves on the two sides- maybe starting off with empty on one side and obstacles on the other, then progressing to having different obstacles on both sides. Without that, I found myself just watching one side of the screen.

maike says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:57am

@TeamQuadratic Thanks, glad you liked it :)!

@AndyBrown I agree, when I play I also focus on just one side of the screen - in the beginning I had implemented it in a way that made it possible for the 'Good' and 'Evil' enemies to spawn at both sides, so when a 'Good' enemy hit the 'Good' player then it would just go right through, whereas if an 'Evil' enemy hit the 'Good' player then it would be game over (same idea would of course apply to 'Evil' player), but I figured that this would be confusing for most people which is why I abandoned the idea. But you're right, keeping one side empty would definitely solve this problem, I'll definitely add this if I feel there's desire for more gameplay features ~ thanks for the feedback :)!

caranha says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:31am

congrats for making your game! The graphics work against you, I think. In my phone, the text and sprites are too tiny, and it is hard to make out anything. A more abstract style would have been better in my opinion.

Cheers, and hope to see you next LD!

Aaants says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Nice one :)

Pierrec says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:48am

A nice take on Flappy Bird. I wished your graphics were bigger because I like them and can hardly see them on my phone.

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:03pm

flappy mirror %)
Nice illustrations.

01101101 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Fun to play, but hard!

hbocao says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 5:48am

Simple but effective gameplay. The art is too small that I couldn't appreciate it properly.

goerp says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Nice game.the graphics were small on my phone, but still big enough to be nice.
Worked smoothly on my device. I was a bit confused on the concept, am I playing one side against the other? I missed the connection to the theme a bit, I guess.
But it was fun playing.

Frankus says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 9:40pm

The game is simple but yet addictive. Kinda hard on the web player. I guess that I should play it on a device, it would be better :P. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]