Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Grindrunner

by xoxopanda - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first entry for Ludum Dare, a short and fast-paced game focused on grinding. Keep moving or else you're toast, because enemies grow stronger as the clock counts down!

Q to switch realms, WASD to move. The black guys are regular enemies, and the yellow ones are very strong bosses. Walk over them to start a battle. You'll regenerate health in the overworld.

Thanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#175Overall3.63
#267Graphics3.58
#282Audio3.19
#414Innovation3.35
#508Mood3.05
#524Fun3.08
#573Humor2.29
#650Theme3.13
#1796Coolness30%

Comments

josh1billion says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 10:29pm

This is a very cool concept. Nice art and music.

mons657 says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Cool game. Nice to look at, and I like how if you go to the over world you regenerate. (I'm assuming that's the over world).

Spacemyname says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Found a bug, the game crashes if two of the dark guys run into you at the same time. Fun game though!

rlangewi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:37am

Entertaining little game with nice graphics. I didn't really have a point of reference as far as how much I needed to train to have a chance against the yellow guys, but I still had fun with it!

Ludipe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Nice game, reminds me to "half minute hero". It'd be nice to have some indicator to show the strength of the enemies.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Second the "Half Minute Hero" influence, but in a great way. Love the way that (other than the inputs) you can find all the mechanics through play.

Nichii says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Grinding... very cool concept for someone who simply just want to waste their time. However, I can't beat the yellows after so long XD Anyway, a very nice game there, dude.

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:52pm

I love it! Very simple, yet awesome controls. Visuals look great and everything seems to work properly. Really like the top down/sideview switch between fights and roaming. Games like these are a huge part of the reason why I love GameJams. It's hard, though. Hard as balls, but lots of fun.

Patacorow says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:55pm

very simple but very good.
The combat is so funny

now i want this to be mmorpg :) please..

sikosis says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:23pm

I love the art style and chip tunes. Great entry.

schizokoa says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Very low innovation note because it feels a bit too much like a ripoff of One Minute Hero

schizokoa says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:27pm

(oh, and I forgot to say it was good otherwise :p)

mechabit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Probably a tad too much grinding for my liking.
Perhaps lower the time limit and amount of grinding required for less patient people like me. The low res look is alright but why impose that restriction on yourself?

SoulGame says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Nice tribute of 10sec heroes, liked it. A restart button would have been nice :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]