Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Mean Astronaut

by MCPGNZ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Maybe he's mean, but only The Mean Astronaut can save the World(s)! Help him to accomplish his goal or die trying!

This game! What is it all about:

Your main goal is to keep alive as many planets as you can.
With space bar you connect to planets. Those connected grow, others slowly die out.
When the planets grows to 100% it spawns another one.
You can jump between planets by placing your character pointing to one and pressing W.

ADDITIONAL NOTES:
In configuration file config.txt you can change few options:
width/height of a window, difficulty settings.

ISSUES:
#1: The application was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b.)
a) in DLL folder there are .dll files for x86/x64 machines, try to copy->replace them to the game folder.
b) if that doesn't work, try installing:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784
c)if you uncounted this problem and suggested solution worked, let me know ;)
d) if it not worked, join IRC channel or leave some kind of contact info to help me to help you! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#101Fun3.70
#161Innovation3.73
#173Humor3.10
#195Overall3.60
#253Mood3.36
#257Graphics3.61
#353Audio3.05
#355Theme3.52
#1265Coolness48%

Comments

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:03am

Cool game :)

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:20am

I was unable to start the game, receiving this error - http://i.imgur.com/3HmaFPG.png.

sharpcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:22am

Fun concept! This has a certainly unique game mechanic, so that was pretty cool. Good job!

MCPGNZ says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:28am

varun: reuploaded with dll i suspect was missing, give it another try ;)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:36am

Ultra satisfying spraying with four planets at once!
Later on I get completely overwhelmed and only manage to hold on to one planet.
Very cool!

MCPGNZ says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:40am

If the game progresses to quickly (all your base are belong to enemies) You can change DIFFICULTY_GAIN in config.txt to smaller value for smoother change. Cheers :)

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:56am

I have the same problem as varun to run the game, same error.

kyru says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:59am

Very fun game but I won't lie, I had no idea what I was doing for most of it.

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:01am

Pretty solid action game! Really loved it!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:11am

Im still not entirely sure how you get to gain new astronauts to shoot with!

This was fun though, once it started to pick up. Maybe id add some sort of dotted line showing where your astronaut is about to jump once you disconnect from a planet, maybe highlighting the current target? The game looks really cool when you're shooting.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Cool game, from the instructions I thought it would be very similar to mine :)

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Its awesome like the style u created def progressed difficulty with time nice work

vividhelix says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:10am

Nice game, couldn't switch worlds but did manage to spawn a new world. Loved the upbeat music!

Scipio Xaos says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:38am

Wow... just.. wow.. BEST GAME I'VE PLAYED YET! Woooh! SOOOOOOOO MUCH FUN. :P

I did find an interesting little glitch where I could get more than one mean astronaut and connected planet at a time. I tried to get a whole bunch of them going... but then the HORDE showed up and there was just so many I was forced to spin in circles and constantly fire to drive them off...

(And the little astronaut popping his head up at the controls screen was gold. I only which I could give this 6 stars. XD )

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]