Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Saphenous

by AortaStudios - Jam Entry

UPDATE: Removed ship/ship collisions as they were causing traffic jams, making the game unplayable and added keyboard movement controls.

Pan Camera - W/A/S/D || Drag the screen || ALT + mouse movement
Zoom - Mouse wheel
Select Planets - Left click
Speed Controls - 1/2/3/4

Saphenous is a population and resource management game based in space.

Team:
Gary Nield - Programmer (Aorta Studios)
Ross Furmidge - Programmer (Aorta Studios)
Bruce Slater - Artist (Radical Forge)

Music Credits:
Water Lily by Kevin MacLeod is licensed under CC Attribution 3.0.

Note: Built in Unity 4.6 beta, so a new web plugin may be required

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#327Theme(Jam)3.28
#334Graphics(Jam)3.50
#354Audio(Jam)3.14
#367Mood(Jam)3.11
#434Overall(Jam)3.15
#534Innovation(Jam)2.77
#539Fun(Jam)2.77
#547Humor(Jam)1.95

Comments

r0x0r says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:40am

linux build, please?

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:43am

I really liked the concept, although it was a little difficult and somewhat tedious to maneuver. Check out how I did WASD for navigation!

DarkUser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:50am

Strong effort. I wish it was more complete as I really like sims management games and there's good work here. The UI and navigation made this hard to get into. I had to keep scrolling out to see things after auto zoom kept pulling me in etc.

Oxeren says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:02am

Good game! Interesting, nice graphics (I escpecially like the look of habitable planets) and music.
But sometimes some things were not clear enough. For example there was a black whole, but then it disappeared for some reason. Info messages dissappear fairly quickly, so sometimes I couldn't read what's going on.

lakael says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:03am

i see myself playing this game if it was a little bit more polished. not really sure why but it took me a bit to completely grasp the idea of how to play.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:06am

The movement was a little difficult, and ran into occasional crashes, but I loved the planet art. The clouds were a really nice touch.

AortaStudios says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:09am

@TheGamingProject can I ask where the crashes were? :) Would love to iron those out, and yes we agree with the movement. We have been trying to think of a way we can do it for touch as well as hardware input :(

r0x0r says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:22am

really nice game, thanks for the linux build =)

Ervin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:33am

Planet graphics are really nice, wow.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:40am

Really lovely music and I like the graphical style - very nice!

ZirconCode says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:42am

Very relaxing, calming music, wish I could have zoomed out more, was a bit hard to navigate.

buckslice says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:45am

Cool graphics and music. Kinda confusing UI, but definitely a promising start.

Rahazan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:28am

Reminds me of the game I set out to make, but ended up changing it around completely because it was too complex. You guys managed to do it somehow, and it is well done! The music fits the game perfectly, the movement is a bit slow. Sometimes ships would get stuck when passing eachother (screenshot http://puu.sh/b8hKm/05fc363d9b.jpg).

I'd love to play a post-compo version of this.

AortaStudios says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:04am

Hey Rahazan, thank for the feedback and screenshot. We are currently talking about continuing developing it so hopefully the navigation and other visual problems will be of our upmost priority. We had a LOT of fun doing the jam and if the majority of the feedback we receive is positive we can hopefully produce something really cool :D

nonetheless says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:48am

Neat graphics, nice concept overall. Great job :)

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Hi there. Player started ok (Web version on Chrome/W8) but right click didn't get caught by the game, which made things tricky. Lovely looking generated planets!

ninjascript says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:35pm

I like it and would like to see this developed further.

DaleyDeku says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Super proud of you guys. You did a great job! :)

AortaStudios says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Thanks guys :)
@mrexcessive, I will look into that and see what's going on

Kep says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:51pm

I would like to know the benefits of the upgrades and the mouse drag movement is painfully slow (on my machine), but i still enjoyed it enough to keep playing.
Well done.

Shide says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:17am

That is one good, complex game, though it is difficult and maybe a little bit too complicated. Gameplay overall is not very obvious

Canyon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:27am

Seems interesting but I found the panning speed frustrating so I lost patience.

SelfishGenome says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:38am

Cool idea, but the slow dragging around the galaxy really made it tedious for me

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Nice entry! Loved the graphics and soundtrack, and like others have said my main criticism was that it was unclear what the upgrades do. Great work!

Dry Tree says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:29am

Nice graphics and good use of the theme. I would like to have a mini-map on this game to make it easier to navigate around.

vinull says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:52pm

I played for a while, but was never really clear what was going on or why. Perhaps more info on the planets and a log of what was happening would help. Looks like there is an interesting game here if the UI gets some polish.

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Like the concept but maybe it's not user-friendly enough. The mood, the graphics and the music were good !

wdebowicz says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Nice game, friendly audio. I would like to have info what the upgrades do, and diary of info messages. Anyway, entry with climate.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]