Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Parazzle

by adoldev - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Solve a puzzle across two different parallel and connected worlds. You can place shapes onto the bottom "control" grid in order to add them to BOTH worlds. Each shape has a different effect in either of the worlds. The objective is to get the arrow to the goal by placing shapes onto the grid that affect its movement in different ways.

Select a shape by clicking its corresponding button at the bottom-right of the screen. You can deselect a shape by clicking on its button again or right-clicking anywhere. Without a shape selected, you can remove shapes from the control grid by right-clicking on them. Clicking the play button will spawn the arrows, clicking the stop button will remove them. Clicking the reset button will remove all placed shapes from the control grid. Editing is only enabled whilst the arrows are unspawned.

Shapes placed onto the control grid will not manifest in a world if there is already an object occupying that space. This includes the start and goal points, walls, and teleporters. The arrow can only warp if there is a teleporter located in its world. Else, it will do nothing and continue past the shape that is telling it to warp.

Game created using Game Maker Studio
Sound effects created using sfxr
adoldev.tumblr.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#189Innovation3.67
#390Fun3.23
#394Overall3.36
#505Theme3.33
#706Audio2.41
#752Humor2.06
#766Mood2.75
#1046Graphics2.27
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

Aug 24, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Quite complicated at first, but very fun after you get into it::)

buckslice says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:21am

Took me a while to figure out what to do though hah. This was a fun puzzler though, good job!

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:03pm

One of the hardest games I've played so far this LD.

skullum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Very cool game

Njord says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Very nice idea !

monsterkillu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Can't seem to play it through the first level. Didn't understand the icons & its purpose well.

Jvdo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:05pm

A fun little puzzle game with a surprising amount of depth. Well done. The one thing which is lacking are clearer instructions one each of the separate shapes.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Nice and hard!

Nanocentury says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Clever puzzle concept, easy to learn hard to play.
Could definitely have used a more lively user interface.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:15pm

A fun but complicated puzzle game. The user interface could be a bit more "user friendly", but an otherwise excellent job. :)

maad9 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Nice game. Fun and challenging ;)

bobrocks says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:50pm

This is hard, but I really like the concept!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:19pm

A good mind-bender. There's a bit much to learn in the beginning, the game might benefit from having a bit simpler first level?

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Very cool, finished all the levels! The "warp if possible" mechanic was a great addition. I thought the UI was fine, although I didn't understand at first where to place things.

ZwodahS says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:10am

have some potential =)

doomista says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:36pm

At first I didn't understand where to put things and what they do, then I noticed help in the bottom-left corner ;) Great entry, I like this puzzle the most from all entries I played so far on this LD. Great job!

hbocao says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:56pm

The puzzles were really well made. I had a lot of fun beating them!

vividhelix says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:03am

Interesting idea, took a while to get used to it, but fun!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]