Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Turbines of Truth

by Duncan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

To complete the level and get back to your world get your circle onto a yellow platform / wall.

Pink walls kill.

The arrows boost speed.

left click will give your circle a jump in the direction of the yellow dot on the circle.

Right click will give your circle a jump in the direction of the blue dot on the circle.

Created using the unity engine and mono develop, art assets created using paint and gimp, audio assets created using audacity, sfxr and Otomata

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#75Innovation3.95
#213Audio3.32
#241Overall3.55
#376Fun3.25
#516Graphics3.15
#840Theme2.81
#1659Coolness36%

Comments

koalamo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:53am

Neat idea!

Demorro says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:28am

Satisfying as hell to beat, bloody hard though.

Nsmurf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:35am

I like it, although it's a bit too hard, and the instructions at the start go by too fast, I needed to go back to read them.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:00am

I love this game.

No, I really mean it. I LOVE this game!

I have yet to beat it. It's one of those Demon's Souls-ish games where you have to beat it with trial and error. And when you hit that error you're like "NOOOOOOOO!". OMG all my 5-stars to this game! (Except humor because, well, it's not meant to be humorous).

crezefire says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Damn it's tough but it works really well. Had me playing for quite a while now. Really good game!!

BinaryPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Very fun, but a little too hard. Checkpoints and/or a slower start would be nice. Can't even really read the instructions till they're gone.

ethankennerly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:53am

Watching the ball speed up through the arrow excited me. If you continue to develop this, have you considered simplifying the first level.

Duncan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Thanks for the feedback guys :)

Yeah if I was to continue to develop this I would make this level easier to complete to at least get the mechanics across, for the levels after though I would probably try to keep the difficulty similar to how it is now.

Yeah I noticed the issue with the instructions flying by too fast while play testing myself, was just a case of running out of time to do anything about it, binding the instructions to a toggable key would probably work better.

nataku92 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:43am

Really hard

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Extremely difficult but nicely executed. As already said, it would be great to play easier levels and see some sort of difficulty curve to get to harder levels. Great job!

runvs says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Hi there, nice Entry. The Controls are kind of complicated, since i cannot determinde the balls direction when it is turning fast. Some easy learning curve or a ingame tutorial would have been nice here.
Also i think the music does not suit the gameplay very well. It is some relaxing "slow down" music, while the gameplay is kind of fastpaced and you rely on proper timing.
Althooung this is a very nice entry for 48 hours!

shashwat says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Loved the game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]