Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Into Hyperspace!

by eott - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Music and sound effects were created with http://abundant-music.com/ and sfxr respectively. I take no credit for these, but they were created by me (by clicking a few buttons).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#191Humor3.05
#269Audio3.22
#708Theme3.04
#806Mood2.71
#913Graphics2.52
#927Overall2.81
#1008Fun2.48
#1043Innovation2.40
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

Snuux says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:43am

Generation music is cool! And game seems interesting. Thanks!

Simon@LD says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Nice! I like the layered gameplay (node traversal vs tunnel racing). The task descriptions were also fun to read :)

Zigsfi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Great humor, great music. I had some small troubles with the controls, but nothing major (basically just couldn't pass random areas of the screen for no apparent reason). The gameplay felt a little same-y but for 48 hours, that's to be expected. My one problem with it is that it can be hard to tell what's on the same plane as the player. Great work!

fizzd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:47pm

I didn't understand what the nodes meant at first but realised the red one was where you were currently and you could only click the ones directly connected to it. The gameplay itself was there but a little boring! The graphics were decent though and if that was a makeshift 3D engine that you programmed yourself then that's a good accomplishment!

Clyde says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:34am

I kept hitting into invisible obstacles and the ship felt a bit slow, but I liked the idea of navigating nodes and getting a bullet hell level between them!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Nice fake 3d effekt and (maybe generated) task texts. Keep up the good work!

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Good effort! The tasks were fun to play but the gameplay seemed always the same. Keep working on your skills!

Benjamin says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Some progression bar would make it looks more like a travel.
For the 3d Effect, last spawned objects should appear behind the others not the opposite.
Same for the speed : The far object should travel slower than the real near ones. It would improve the 3D speed effect but it would probably make the game more difficult.
Bonus for the mission selection screen !

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:04pm

The gameplay was a little boring. Not very challenging and it was repetitive. Didn't really get the concept either. Sorry

blurryroots says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Fun game. The perspective effect on the spaceship is very creative and I like the little references you put into the briefing texts. Good job.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Nice entry, need to improve gameplay a little.

porglezomp says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:36am

Hey, I remember helping you find cross-browser issues with this! Hi!

In addition to most of the above criticisms, I think one reason it feels boring is that there's very little variety, no real sense of progression in the tunnel. Maybe if the tunnel had some fancier graphics that changed as you went along — even just having different colors in the different rings — as well as some indicator of how far you were would do a great deal to help.

eott says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:36pm

*wave* Hi porglezomp, I bet you saved me a solid hour with your help.


Thanks for the feedback to all of you. Next time I definitely know what to look out for... if I can translate this to other games.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]