Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Trapped in a Computer

by elkiwydev - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Pretty simple game I made..Unfortunatly I couldn't use all the 48 hours, instead I used only 15 hours fully dedicated..
The connection between the world that I made is the one with the real world and the world in where we play in our videogames.. This is the result, hope you like it!

-The position of the obstacles and exits are generated randomly so I hope there will be any bug in there..(Btw all the randomly generated levels are possible to finish using the laserGun)

Tools used:
-Paint.NET mainly for the graphics (Also used Photoshop)
-Love2D as game engine (Lua as language)
-Audacity for the audio

CONTROLS:

-WASD to move and preceed in the first dialog (Y to skip it)
-SPACE to use the LaserGun when it's charged

NB: the screenshot shows some offset elements.. That's only because I had to take screenshot with the windowed mode of the game, but the version you download is in fullscreen with everything in the right place (I hope).

IMPORTANT: If someone is testing the 32Bit windows version on a 32Bit machine can he please comment here saying if it works or not? I can't test it since I have only 64Bit machines, thanks

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#273Humor2.83
#314Audio3.13
#385Mood3.19
#397Theme3.45
#409Graphics3.32
#425Overall3.33
#479Innovation3.26
#651Fun2.93

Comments

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:01am

Great concept and solid controls.

MSaul says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:22am

Great ambiance and mecanics. Too short :(.

hungyg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:25am

This is bloody hard! :D The intro was great at the beginning, I would not have had a single clue otherwise as to what's going on. I cannot say that I managed to complete a level, but it is a lot of fun even so! great job!

fcpfoof says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:02am

This is soooo hard ;o. But anyway it's great ;). I give 5.
(Works under Wine).

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:27pm

controls felt very good, nice job. Just one tip, try to make a web version next time, so more people will play your game.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Took me a while to get the hang of it but that was pretty interesting. I'm happy to say I finally beat it!

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:15pm

I know about the web version.. But the problem is that I'm usually making pc games so I used Love2D as engine that it hasn't a solid support for web games :(

TheMorfeus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Can't run it. WinXP 32 bit

Peping says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:03pm

This would be a great game. Unfortunately out of the 2 tries I had at it, I never finished it. If the exits are randomly placed, I'm not even sure it can be solved in every case. In any case, the game shows you really put a lot into it. I like it.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Very interesting, strategic game, but the RNG kinda screws you ever some times. Not much you can do if it forces you into a wall. On the flip side, sometimes the levels were too easy, but that's to be expected with RNG. That aside, this was a great entry.

shatterhand says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Hey, you just played my game, "Videogame Hero". Can you tell me on what "level" you got stuck, since there are no order to play them?
Did you try to press "Enter" to get back to the hub?
Thank you for the feedback.

shatterhand says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:18pm

ALso, your game didn't run on my machine. Does it only work on 64 bits computers?

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Yes, my game unfortunatly runs only on 64Bit machine because the engine make only 64Bit games now...

For the RNG questions : every single possibility is possible to finish is..Introducing the laserGun that can block the mirror for one move I made all the randomly generated level possible ;)

(No question about other games here, I'll reply for other games in their page)

Xgor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Intresting game, Bit frustrating that the other player dosn't do what you want all the time, but I guess that's the point :P

w84death says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:37pm

Hard but interesting

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:03pm

FOR EVERYONE HAVING PROBLEM WITH WINDOWS : if you have a 32Bit machine I added a test of a 32Bit version of the game, I couldn't test it so if someone is having trouble (or even if it works perfectly) please write a comment giving me feedback about it, thanks

Retr0spectrum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Very good! I found this really fun to play, and it looks great too!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:13am

Liked concept a lot. Simple yet challenging. Solid graphics and good take on theme.

MentaL13 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:31am

Great game, really liked the story at the beginning

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:41am

I also found this very hard, but it is a great idea and a very thoughtful puzzle.

syawqy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:49pm

this is haaarrrddd...

runvs says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Nice Game, but quite hard. It took me some time to figure out how to beat the game.

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:45pm

What a nice concept, fun game, but really quiet hard. Thank you very much for this game!

jayhof says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:15am

I really like the look and music of your game. It's very hard though I could not figure it out, still enjoyed, thanks!

Nisshoku says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:59am

like the concept couldn´t finish the it. Challenging game. maybe it would be better to have the first level fixed so people can learn a bit about the behavior of that other "character". It seemed that most of the time it didn't follow me while i was going towards his exit. other then that good use of the theme and the game has a nice look and feel to it.

Knowledge says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:13am

Raise System Error for me. Win32 Windows XP Professional (I used 32-bit version)

JaJ says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Cool concept. This was something new! Took me 48 moves :)

JetL33t says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:53pm

Nice conecpt. 17 moves to finish :P

Canyon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:14am

Made me laugh, managed to win a round. Cool idea, I liked the music!

mechabit says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:25pm

hard game. I like the glow effect

Tomker says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Nice graphic style and concept.

caranha says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:52pm

If you did the game in Lua, it should be easy to add a Linux version as well :-)

Artamus says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Nice game, congrats!

banana4life says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Very very hard ^^ but a lot of fun!

Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Nice visuals and the intro text was great, liked the humour.

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Wow great mechanics. Simple but very challenging. I also liked the graphics. Thank you for spending the time to make in game instructions. Great job.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]