Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bus

by Caribou - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"Bus" focuses on how nearly impossible it is to meet any particular person after thousands of years of human history and how we don't appreciate it.

CONTROLS: WASD - move, Left mouse button - pick up and use items.

Thank you for all the comments! I didn't include checkpoints on purpose, to strengthen my point, but I already know how to really increase the replay value of the game and I'll be making a post-compo version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#179Humor3.08
#369Graphics3.40
#394Innovation3.37
#486Mood3.07
#505Theme3.33
#586Overall3.18
#717Fun2.87
#956Audio1.66

Comments

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:57am

Came to play a game about a bus... stayed because I got to stab a mammoth. HELLL YEAH! Good job!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:06am

Very enjoyable, but slightly frustrating having to start from the beginning each time. However, that does rather make your point...

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:20am

Wow. This is really interesting game!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:54am

Fantastic concept! :)

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:56am

It's always nice to stab a mammoth :) Checkpoints would be nice.

fcpfoof says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:57am

I don't understand much what's going on, it's so random but funny ;D

mrbungle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:59am

Nice little series of vignettes, great interpretation of the theme. Had to play until completion! Like the graphics, shame there's no animation or sound.

DrCicero says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:19am

Gah! Too hard. The bus scene should be skippable with the mouse, so you dont have to watch it infitity times. And i think you should be allowed to take one hit in the plane... Cant got further than that. Maybe the end would explain, how these worlds are connected?

Would have been nice to write "WASD+left click" in the background of the first scene, so you know what to do.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Checkpoints could have been nice, but otherwise this is pretty interesting take on the theme.

chriskdev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:47pm

I really liked the timeline thingy, good job and great concept! Replaying the whole game from the beginning if you died wasn't that much fun, but I liked it overall :)

MrCakehat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Art style is pretty good!

Doubstract says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:13pm

It's hilarious! Art style is amazing, gameplay is amazing, atmosphere is amazing, EVERYTHING is amazing!

LaFleur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Definitely an original take on the theme! Good job!

headchant says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Very hard but I liked the idea. It is a bit frustrating that you have to start from the beginning if you die.

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Quite challenging. Interesting concept. Like it.

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:48pm

nice art, interesting use of story

pxlcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Loved the graphics and the story!

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Seems like developer was on heavy drugs while making this game :D I really enjoyed it

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:27pm

This is quite unique game, with interesting approach at theme.

SnoutUp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:39pm

Stuck on plane level, would play more, but replaying everything from the start is a bit too much. Loved the idea, tho and art is great.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Really nice concept and graphics. I included it in part 5 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/W46twhRFdK8

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Like other said, you kinda wish for a checkpoint after a few tries. But that'd ruin the whole point I guess. Great little game(s)!

TravisChen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:41am

This is a masterpiece. Amazing.

Otrora says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Some animations and you're done. Everything else work fine

mechabit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Like the concept, really original, well done.

lorniebear says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:47pm

I like it! Reminds me of Warioware. Was that your intention?

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:13am

This was truly a delight.
Very interesting concept!

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Very cool and original game, I liked it a lot. The penalty for failure was a bit high, having to start over again from the beginning, but a lot of fun nevertheless!

uvwar says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:15am

Wasn't entirely sure what was happening most of the time. I feel like some simple sound cues would clue in the player as to what was happening or what they were meant to do (wolf howling, mammoth trumpet, etc). Otherwise everything else is really nice!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Very interesting concept. A bit frustrating, but still really fun.

KedumeBits says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:48pm

I like the concept. It remind me to MacPixel. Good job.

Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Hey! You are on today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R3kmJ2DDWPE

IamAcoconut says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Nice game. Very original. I think if you added some music, more minigames, and polished it up a bit more, it would be really great. Good game.

RobotFriend says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Nice mammoth!

mechabit says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:56am

I like how you convey the story without words simply by having the red-head girl or the brown haired guy disappear when one of their many ancestors failed to survive.

Reminds me of the scene in Watchmen when Dr. Manhattan discovers the value of human life as every single ancestor of a person had to have survived long enough to have children.

SteveSalmond says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:27am

One of the more inventive interpretations of the theme I've seen so far. I cracked up laughing in the mammoth and knight scenes, and cursed when that damned plane shot me down for the second time. Great job :)

bluemaroo3 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Another vote for checkpoints here. Really enjoyed the concept and love the graphics style. Just found it a little too difficult for myself.

Z.B.G.E. says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Clever use of the theme! The "MSPaint" art style worked surprisingly well too.

The game mechanics are a bit hard to grasp and unforgiving (no checkpoints) but they still serve the story well. I found the game a bit unbalanced too: after all these very short sequences, when the planes part came by, I thought I was doing something wrong since I couldn't get to shoot the enemy. I think now that I only had to survive a minute or so until the red plane made it to the right part of the screen, but I didn't manage to get past it. After a few attempts I had to give up.

Overall it's a great 48h entry :)

egor-idiot says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Crazy game %)

TaoPhoenix says ...
Sep 23, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Hmm, I'm not seeing anyone posting spoilers yet. The plane is in fact the last level. (That seems to have been happening a bit in LD lately - fairly short games, but everyone gets stuck on the last level just when they are about to win.)

The way to beat the plane is to fly diagonally up or down and far right, then match the rhythm of exactly five shots and a space, so that in the interval you decoy the plane up or down not to get cornered, forcing the red plane out of position, then it can't catch up. After some 4-5 times of doing this, it starts to get close, so then just when it's done firing, you brake hard and get behind it. Then it can't hurt you, so stick your nose turret into its rear engine or whatever and press the mouse to blow it up.

Sorry, the ending doesn't explain anything, but not bad for a beginning developer. I'd prefer like here that there don't seem to be any/many bugs, rather than sometimes otherwise the dev burns a crucial 6 hours in the start and then gets jammed at the end.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]