Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Planestroller

by ShaunJS - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Dev Timelapse: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HYal2-fzVZs <3

A short game about a Wizard who's power to change reality went haywire and flung him into some extradimensional... place.

All you need is love. (and the arrow keys)

Loads and loads I wanted to add to this, originally wanted each 'universe' to be more aesthetically themed (different floors and tiles) but time is time. So you get variants of Render Clouds in photoshop.

Super short and sweet. Just run the exe.

The source is obviously included but jeez don't look at it or you'll go mad cthulu style.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#29Fun3.96
#65Overall3.85
#79Mood3.73
#95Theme3.92
#135Audio3.52
#189Innovation3.67
#350Graphics3.44
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

tigerbyte says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:05am

I like the main menu. Good job with this. As a follower of your videos I can't say I'm surprised!

C_Walden says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:17am

That was pretty fun! Repetitive but decent music, fit the ambiance well. The last stage was tough, but I persevered. I didn't notice any glaring flaws, and the difficulty ramped up nicely. Great job.

vinhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:46am

This game is pretty tough after the first few levels! I found it a bit easier if I used my mouse cursor to plot out the square I needed to book it to haha. Definitely a cool game. Solid menu, graphics, and features for the time constraint. I thought the progression was about right too. Really good use of the theme. I'm going to beat it... eventually.

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:27am

this is pretty fun :D

cardboard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:39am

The difficulty increased very effectively. The easy levels weren't too easy, and the later levels were challenging enough. The art is good, and the music fits the game and mood very well.

arttut02 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:50am

That was very interesting game, in a good way. Had some flashbacks from Another Perspective though ;).

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:55pm

That's a pretty solid game! Nice. Really like the portal sound :)

Aedx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Nortan SONAR insta-deletes upon running... As it is supposedly a 'High-Risk Item' there is absolutely nothing I can do about it :l

Aedx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Never mind, did a bit of Googling and found out how to exclude files :D

Zekronz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:02pm

This was really fun to play! Great work! :D

Aedx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Note there is a glitch with the second level involving the pushable blocks, where if timed correctly, the gap can be simply walked across without dying. I have not looked into the source code, but I would assume that it is associated with the way in which one has a small window during which the player is invincible between dimension switching.

Aedx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:08pm

This bug is in fact applicable to all levels involving a 1-block gap.

Aedx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Yes, the final two levels can be pretty much skipped via this. Otherwise, great game, nice graphics, a fairly solid concept (although one which I have seen before) and I love the animation at the outside :D

The music can be a little repetitive, but this is a short game, and written in a short time space, so well done!

mee.feed says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Awesome Game really. The Idea Was Quite Cool.

matiasmunyo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:08pm

wonderful

ShaunJS says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:54pm

@Aedx

Well spotted! I actually became aware of this in the last 6 hours or so of development. I decided to leave it in because 1. the effort to track it down and 'fix' it wasn't something I could afford and 2. I actually just thought it was really cool! haha. I think my softspot for speedrunning slips in to the things I make sometimes =D

FineSpun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Awesome game! I like the idea of changing platforms. Keep it up bro.

K3nnyklizzl3 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Fantastic work! I really enjoyed the live feed (haven't watched the time-lapse vid yet, but I will). Thanks so much for everything you do bro!

Ekilibr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Pretty amazing work. Love the mechanic, and pretty much looking like my game on the paper (a wizard who travels between two worlds), but totally different on application !

You really did a good job, and there's a great level design with growing difficulty. Do an app, and I buy it :)

alvarop says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:20am

Nice little game, I enjoyed it!

Denisre3 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:27am

It's a really fun and awesome game!

Conk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:06pm

That was a challenge, and I'm impressed with it's length, really good job!

swich says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Nice intro menu. The game is innovative in its approach but I would enjoy the ability to control the switching or speed it up a little bit because I sometimes felt it was too long when I was just waiting for it to switch. Also, the movement of the character felt a little floaty (moved more than I expected it to). Otherwise I really like the idea and you should try to polish the graphics and audio a little bit.

steve says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:09pm

I really enjoyed this, especially the last level where I had to think several switches ahead.

I think it could have done with a 1 key buffer though, there were a couple of places I died because I double tapped the key and the second hit didn't register.

This might be because I've been playing a lot of crypt of the necrodancer recently, but I also felt as though the switch should in some way be timed to the beat of the music, the music felt a little disconnected from the game to me because the game has a tick/tock beat, but the music didn't follow it.

I also hit that bug of being able to cross between tiles during the switch when I should have fallen to my doom, it did have an element of 'saving myself in the nick of time', but overall it felt a bit exploity :)

Foreshadowing the game in the menu design was a clever touch too.

ShaunJS says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:11pm

@Steve
Thanks!

I actually did play with the idea of the music syncing with the switching as that would have been AMAZING to get working. But unfortunately for gameplay reasons the timing of the switches had to occur differently on each level. (and also the timing resets when you die, etc)

Not that it wouldn't have been possible to find a way to do this, but there simply wasn't time. Would have loved to do it though and I agree it would make things better!

Thanks for playing =)

FGM says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Loved it. Awesome graphics. And the gameplay is easy to understand, yet complex. Made for some really hard puzzles.

Pesty says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Fun little game, good graphics and music(didn't have to turn it off) bit too frustrating towards the end, gave up on the 3 block level.

RHY3756547 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Very nice work! The difficulty scaling was spot on, the later puzzles were brilliant! I was pretty surprised at the quantity of levels you managed to make within 48h, well done!

FenceBrothers says ...
Sep 18, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Great stuff! Sucks that you didn't get a chance to really break away from gameplay similar to [Another] Perspective, but this is still a unique and interesting game itself. And fun!

Not to discredit the puzzles in any way, but I really think the title screen is my favorite thing about this game. Too many games just throw away the title screen like it's a necessary evil. Yours was basically the first tutorial level, and served as a great introduction to the gameplay.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]