Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Relative to Scale

by EndingChaos - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You start as an amoeba. You evolve through 5 stages, each with their own game play mechanics. Everything is relative to scale. Everything is connected. All the worlds are connected but know nothing of each other. Take a trip through size and space.

End of game explains concept, and initializes "hard mode."

file is exe.
--------------------
WSAD - move
spacebar - interact

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#192Overall3.61
#200Mood3.45
#204Fun3.51
#273Humor2.83
#282Audio3.19
#361Graphics3.42
#575Innovation3.13
#581Theme3.22

Comments

kblaney says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:01am

Like a NES version of Spore. Really good title.

geekygenius says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:06am

Very fun! It reminded me a lot of spore. When the music stops at the end, it really creates a cool mood.

Sanguine says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:08am

The collisions were kinda buggy sometimes but I liked the concept.

Clyde says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:11am

Loved the music, fun gameplay, becoming king of the reptiles was awesome. Eating other planets was awesome. Game crashed when I beat the planet stage though...

Nsmurf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:19am

I like it!


Very much like spore :)

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:52am

awesome! Great concept and graphics

Shmackson says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:04am

Like other have been saying, it really reminded me of a 2D classic Spore. Good work!

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:06am

The animation could be a bit faster.

handkor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:13am

Very fun, well done. On the intro though re pressing the spacebar make the menu restart making you wait longer.

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:45am

11/10 needs more pixels -IGN

Ossi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:31am

Fantastic game! Feels really polished and complete. I had quite a bit of trouble as the moon because the movement was very slippery, but I guess that was point. I love the retro graphics too, and the music fit the mood really well. Well done!

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Why you no mac?

leDragoon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:05pm

can't start the game

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:21pm

haha, yeah. very spore-ish :)

granut100 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Good game and very nice graphics. Although it crashed when I went to the space stage.

EndingChaos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:34am

Hey thank you guys so much for the positive feedback! I really appreciate it :) I'm sorry about lack of other platforms and that the game has crashed on some of you. It was a huge project for my first game compo and barely made the deadline. Again thank you guys so much for the support.

barryrowe says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:39am

This game is such a good entry. Very well done!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:47am

Great concept, great execution. I love the fun way all of the creatures interact and the art style!

EndingChaos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:52am

Thanks guys :)

Resonious says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:54am

Reminds me of spore, just like everyone else. Spore is good, though!

Animan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:01am

Very good! It did remind me heavily of Spore (although I get what you were trying to do, with the 5 stories connected without one another knowing). Audio was a little grating, and I do kinda wish I could use the arrow keys instead of WASD when I'm also using the spacebar, but those are the only complaints I have for an otherwise solid game. :)

JordanFitz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:02am

Great game!

Tom Snively says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:06am

I liked it. Pretty cool way with the evolution of the animals. I got a fatal error in the wolves section.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:06am

___________________________________________
############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Step Event0
for object obj_planet:

Pop :: Execution Error - Variable references invalid object (-4).absorb
at gml_Object_obj_planet_Step_0
############################################################################################


Crash that stopped my game.

Also spamming space-bar prevents actually starting the game.

Other than that good.
Nice graphics that remind me of 16 bit.
Samey mechanics and goals.
Took awhile to figure out how the theme was in there.
Audio was very aesthetic, quite close to the sound of the 16 bit but not quite to be so.
A bit repetitive so quickly became boring.

-- Bradley Roope

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:06am

A well done, if very simple, game. I like the way it loops.

Kato says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:08am

First two levels were amazing, loved the gameplay and difficulty curve (frustrating but fair). I didn't really have a grasp of the mechanics of the third and fourth levels, they didn't really feel fair or as snappy as the first two levels. I was always excited to evolve. I couldn't beat the fourth level. Great concept, would revisit happily.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:09am

I had a hard time with the 4th stage but i liked that it wasn't too easy like it sometime is with that kind of game. I loved the last stage! Graphics were good. Well done.

ethankennerly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:22am

Dodging predators and chasing prey felt awesome! 5 stars! If you continue to develop this have you considered not needing to press Space to eat food as an amoeba; I didn't read those instructions and got confused. As a fish I didn't need to press Space to eat. Also the food are red so I wasn't sure if the food was food or if it was an amoeba.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:35am

Very solid entry, though gameplay becomes slow and repetitive after a while; also, didn't like the fact that I don't become a supermassive black hole at the end (the very eating of other planets WAS awesome, though, and that's what decided for giving it 3 points in Innovation).

On a side note, upon first playthrough I encountered division by 0 error in reptilian stage just after one of dashes. O.o"

LPeter1997 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:08am

Was a bit hard (for me at least) but it's pretty cool!

ivanhlb says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:17am

Not bad overall.

hbocao says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:43am

This felt like 5 different games. I think this is cheating :P
Awesome job, man! Great solo entry. Be proud.

lkr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Nice visuals and music, and fun gameplay. Loved the variety in the different stages, and how differently they played.

When I beat normal mode and the game restarted in hard mode, the music stopped. Not sure if that's intended?

Other than that - great game :)

Ventura says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:23pm

I liked! nice game, :D. It shows the different worlds nicely.

Wertle says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:28pm

I think my favorite part was when I got to be the dino pack and attack with everyone at once. It felt good to do. You have a couple of inconsistencies which were a little bit confusing, like how in evolution 2 I only had to touch the bits to get them, whereas other times I had to actively eat them. I got stuck on the pack phase because I eventually was unable to find another pack to fight. I might come back to this and try pressing forward as I believe there are many more phases. Good work!

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Nice! it reminds me of Don Mattrick's old Evolution game on the Apple II

OFF says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:54am

Spore spirit.

Some minor tweaks allow to quickly quit the start menu, and maybe a sound when you start because the fade is really slow.

The first level is really nice, but i think that as we became bigger the small amibe should avoid us (except if they are with a big one), it could make the challenge more evoluting.
Nice music, graphics are perfect and coherent.

Not fan of the second level, a little bit disconnected, and it's not really working as a shoot them up.

Next level are variation of the first and became badly finished, the collision system who work well with amibe, seems strange with lezard.

A little bit too disconnected for me but that's great. I think that making just a sclaed based amibe style game (like the start of Spore) would made a great entry.

The first level is really nice, and well polished.

Nice game.

Rehacked says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:44am

I really liked the game. what i found on game was that you were about to say that all those characters that we play in game have a unique world that connection between them makes the world we are living in.Good Job

villhest says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Great concept, very ambitious. Loving it!

mechabit says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Reminds me of the old snes game EVO Search for Eden. Good work

ninjascript says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Nice mechanics! I had some trouble with the planet phase feeling a bit too floaty and hard to control but still managed to beat the stage.

varun says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:30am

Awesome idea - almost like a demake of Spore. Must have been difficult to create so many different game-play styles!

Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:10am

Interesting, it was fun too.

Nanolotl says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:21am

Cool idea. Well executed in most areas, although I think the fish stage could have used a bit of balancing. I got a fatal error after finishing the planet stage. Overall, a good entry.

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 8:45pm

This was pretty cool. Impressive you basically made many games in one. I liked the retro pixel art. It came together with the sound to make a cool mood. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]