Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries


by jesseleavethisplace - 48 Hour Compo Entry


This is my first Ludum Dare game. If you get stuck press s. I might make a post compo version with music, power ups, and movable blocks. It was made with html5. You only get a good frame rate if you use chrome. Safari completely botches the game, though it could be argued that the game completely botches safari (it's super hackish).

Downloads and Links




duncankeller says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:00am

The beginning of this was great. Very funny and entertaining. I was really compelled to play the game after it. The game itself I did not find to be that enjoyable, but I thought the mechanic was a really cool idea, and given more time I'm sure you could have done some awesome stuff with it. Unfortunately, I got caught inside the objects a number of times.

WesleyJohnson says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:25am

I got pretty far and then I ran into "d:draw" written out on the screen and the graphics started to blur/repeat as if the screen buffer wasn't getting reset or something? Very odd. Kudos on the intro text, very funny.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:28am

thanks duncankeller. i agree with you the beginning is much better than the actual game. hopefully i work on a post-compo version.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:32am

thanks WesleyJohnson. yeah at that point i was very tired and i i realized i wasn't clearing that part, and i decided to leave 1000 pixels that didn't get cleared. beyond them theres just more of the same.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:34am

oh yeah duncankeller the collision detection is incredibly bad. it's basically several layers of hacks.

Josh Riley says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:54am

I really liked the setup and the idea. Encouraging full screen helped a lot in this regard, I think. The graphics were also really cool, but the gameplay was a bit confusing. Once I figured out what to do, it was fun, although a bit clunky at times. Overall, good job!

kenrickrilee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:06am

Such an awesome intro :D

gillenew says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:06am

I don't quite understand the story

korigame says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:09am

Pretty awesome intro :D

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:23pm

The intro is interesting enough, but what is the goal of the game?

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:48pm

It doesn't have a goal bvanschooten.

vandriver says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:51pm

solid intro, the game could use an escape mechanism like teleporting to the middle and some baddies to dodge

gnx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Lovely intro with nice pacing and humour. Unfortunately the game itself isn't really fun. However the graphics looks quite nice and I think some audio this could've had a very nice atmosphere.

Canyon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:00am

The intro was great! The concept was great! The mechanic idea was great but once you realise that nothing happens and you have experienced all that it is going to offer, there is no incentive to keep playing.

I am not saying that is a bad thing though. I am glad I played.

I think the mechanic could be expanded upon to make some kind of VVVVVV style thing. And if you could represent the bounds of gravity with sound and visuals it would be really interesting what kind of puzzles you could design around that.

tanjent says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Like the book, the introduction was better :) I think the graphic style of the intro should also have been used in the game because it's a really big contrast, in style (and in scale) right now!

Clyde says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:40am

Liked the interpretation of the theme and LOVED the dramatic intro. The game mechanic was a cool direction, though the execution of the game itself was a little bit a letdown.

At least watching the intro was WELL worth the time watching it and trying the game!

garygreen says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:21pm

It would have been useful to have feedback on how well I was doing through the game. I liked the comment about the 3D graphics. :-D

caranha says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:27pm

Like the others said, interesting mechanics and intro, hope to see more of this game!

CyberNinja says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:11pm

love the intro

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]